Fort McMurray Branch **Activity Report to Council APRIL, 2002**

Fort McMurray Report Index | APEGGA Home

Chair

Fort McMurray Branch Report To Council

Mitch Azmier, P. Eng.

April 24th, 2002

Past Chair

Vice Chair

Branch Activities

Paul Hagar, P. Eng.

A technical night was held on February 12th, 2002. It was jointly run by C.I.M. and APEGGA, and the topic was "Extraction Managers Night". Presentations were given by Jerry Hanford from Syncrude, Brad Bjornson from Suncor, and Art Ratte from Albian Sands. 60 people

Kim Farwell, P. Eng.

Treasurer

Jacob Oommachan, P. Eng.

Secretary

Kamal Hammad, M.I.T.

Outreach Coordinator

Anne Simpson, P. Eng.

Members-at-large

Irfan Ahmad

Christophe Durieu, P. Eng.

Bruce Durnford, M.I.T.

Rattan Garcha, P. Eng.

Hassan Halepota, M.I.T.

Ramesh Kadali

Louise Michaud, P. Eng.

Prakash Mullick, P. Eng.

Mike Sneath, P. Eng.

were in attendance.

In order to accommodate moves to other events, another technical night also ended up being scheduled for February, on the 20th. This event was jointly offered by APEGGA and Fluor. Several speakers were provided by Fluor who spoke on the new technologies that will be used in oilsands plants being built in the next few years. 70 people attended this function.

The branch held its Annual General Meeting on March 27th, which was attended by 45 people. Mike Ashar, P. Eng., Executive Vice President Oil Sands, Suncor Energy spoke about the challenges and success of the expansions that Suncor had recently undergone. Mitchel Azmier, P. Eng. provided the branch year end report, while Jacob Oommachan, P. Eng. went through the branch financial statements for 2001. The new executive was also elected, who will commence duties officially after the APEGGA AGM on April 27th, 2002. The 2002/2003 executive are:

Chair

Kim Farwell, P. Eng.

Past Chair

Mitchel Azmier, P. Eng.

Vice Chair

Anne Simpson, P. Eng.

Treasurer

Jacob Oommachan, P. Eng.

Secretary

Paul Hagar, P. Eng.

Outreach Coordinator Mike Anderson, P. Eng.

Members-at-large

Irfan Ahmad Joseph Amalraj, P. Eng. Christophe Durieu, P. Eng. Rattan Garcha, P. Eng. Hassan Halepota, M.I.T. John Huntley, P. Eng. Louise Michaud, P. Eng. Prakash Mullick, P. Eng. Vic Saari, P. Eng. Mike Sneath, P. Eng.