Awarded to members who have served their profession diligently for many years and who have made substantial contributions to the operation of the Association and the advancement of its professional status.


Mr. John Boyd, P.Geoph., was born in Vancouver and graduated from the University of Toronto in 1960 with a B.A.Sc. in the Geophysics option of Engineering Physics. After graduation, he moved to Alberta and joined Amoco as a Junior Geophysicist. He subsequently worked in the consulting field before joining IBM to help develop and market seismic processing systems for main-frame computers. He joined Digitech, a Calgary seismic processing firm, and was Assistant Manager of the processing centre in Sydney, Australia and then set up an office and a processing centre in London, England. Mr. Boyd and his family returned to Calgary in 1976 and in 1977 he formed Boyd Exploration Consultants (now Boyd PetroSearch).

In 1985, his company began its first independent, large-scale project of regional sonic-log cross-sections spanning the Western Canadian sedimentary basin. This project found support for further regional studies, despite the collapse of oil prices and industry activity in 1986. The company has been a leader in the use of mode-converted shear waves in seismic exploration, starting with the Carrot Creek project in 1987. Both Carrot Creek and the Blackfoot 3-D survey in 1995, a joint project with the University of Calgary, provided research material to graduate students in the CREWES consortium.

Boyd PetroSearch has been closely involved with the Saskatchewan potash industry since the 1980s. This cooperative effort has evolved into a strategic alliance, using advanced seismic technology to help plan mine development.

Mr. Boyd has consistently recruited young professionals, helping to move the company to the forefront of technology. Boyd PetroSearch is now a much larger group with broad capabilities in resource consulting and is universally trusted for its high standards and reputation for integrity. Mr. Boyd has stated that it is part of the company philosophy to be an active participant in the leading edge of the industry, “We make a conscious effort never to sit back and rest on what we know.”

Mr. Boyd served APEGGA on numerous committees and was a member of Council from 1996 to 1999.

Honours, Awards and Distinctions

• CSEG Honorary Membership, 2004
• Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary, 2002
• President, Rotary Club of Calgary, 2001-2002
• SEG, Best Paper, Honorable Mention, 1997
• CSEG Medal, 1995
• CSEG Meritorious Service Award, 1989
• CSEG Best Paper Award, 1978

Professional Affiliations and Activities

• Member, Nominating Committee, 2000-2001, 1987
• Member, Practice Standards Committee Subcommittee, Practice Standard for Quality Inspection of Geophysical Data, 2001
• Member, Geoscience Task Force, 1997-2000
• Member, Council, 1996-1999
• Member, Discipline Committee, 1993-1998
• Member, Practice Review Board, 1987-1991
• Member, APEGGA/CSEG/CSPG Liaison Committee, 1987-1988, 1986, 1985
• APEGGA/CSEG/CSPG Multi-Licensing Agreement
• Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists (CSEG)
• Member, Chief Geophysicists’ Forum
• Member, Master License Agreement Initiative Standing Committee
• President, 1986-1987
• Vice President, 1985
• 2nd Vice President, 1983
• Secretary, 1980
• Member, European Association of Exploration Geophysicists
• Member, Society of Exploration Geophysicists

This award is named for Mr. Lionel C. Charlesworth, P.Eng., APEGGA President, 1924. Mr. Charlesworth was appointed Deputy Minister of Alberta Public Works in 1915 and also served as Deputy Minister of Railways and Telephones until 1921. Until his retirement in 1945, he devoted his life to the highly important work of irrigation in southern Alberta and was instrumental in establishing the Eastern District in 1935.

Copyright © 2004 The Association of Professional