This award is presented to members of APEGGA who have made exemplary contributions to teaching and learning at a recognized post-secondary teaching establishment in Alberta.


Dr. Michael Brett, P.Eng., has been a faculty member in the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Alberta since 1986. As a young faculty member, he quickly mastered the skills required to teach engineering courses with clarity and organization. His achievements in the classroom were recognized in 1994 with the University of Alberta’s highest teaching award, the Alexander Rutherford Award.

On the heels of winning the Alexander Rutherford Award, Dr. Brett became Director of Engineering Physics in 1995. At that time, Engineering Physics was a very small program with a handful of students. Under Dr. Brett’s commitment and guidance, the program has grown to 25 students per year and has the highest admission standard in the Faculty.

Dr. Brett is also very committed to the mentoring of colleagues and junior professors. Within the Faculty of Engineering, he is a consistent contributor to the New Faculty Forums. This program was established in 1996 to provide informal mentoring to new faculty members through a series of lunch hour seminars. Experienced and respected members of the Faculty are invited to speak on topics where they have truly excelled, allowing new professors to meet a range of experts and strong role models in the Faculty. Dr. Brett’s mentoring efforts extend even beyond the walls of the Faculty of Engineering, through his involvement in the University Teaching Services Mentoring program.

Honours, Awards and Distinctions

• Micralyne/NSERC/iCORE Senior Industrial Research Chair in Thin Film Engineering, 2003-2008
• Canada Research Chair (Tier I) in Nanoengineered Thin Films, 2002-2009
• Recipient, Outstanding Leadership in Alberta Technology Award, ASTech Awards, 2003
• Finalist, Outstanding Leadership in Alberta Technology Award, ASTEch Awards, 2002
• iCORE Professor, Nanoscale Engineering Physics Initiative, 2001-2006
• Micralyne/NSERC Senior Industrial Research Chair in Thin Film Engineering, 1998-2003
• Killam Annual Professor, 1995-1996
• Alexander Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, University of Alberta, 1994
• Undergraduate Teaching Award, Faculty of Engineering, University of Alberta 1993
• Arthur G. McCalla Research Professorship, 1989-1990
• NSERC University Research Fellowship, 1986-1988
• NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1985-1986

Copyright © 2004 The Association of Professional