Committee Members

Bill Hibbard, P.Eng., Chair
Neal Eggen, P.Eng.*
Mike Seth, P.Eng.*
Dave Curwen, P.Eng.
Darcie Greggs, P.Geol.
Gary Johnston, P.Geoph.
Alex MacKenzie, P.Eng.
Harvey Olsen, P.Eng.
Hugh Powell, P.Eng.
Mike Rosseker, P.Eng.
Heather Scott, P.Eng.

*APEGGA Councillor

Legal Counsel
Barry Massing. LL.B.

Dave Todd, P.Eng.
Director, Enforcement

Enforcement Review Committee

Bill Hibbard, P.Eng., Chair

The major objective of the Enforcement Review Committee (ERC) is to obtain compliance with the reserved title and reserved practice provisions of the Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions (EGGP) Act.

Along with regular enforcement activities during 1995, the ERC undertook several additional aggressive projects. Among these were; contacting and holding meetings with key provincial government departments regarding implementation of policies for receiving submissions from registered APEGGA members; filing of title violation complaints under section 81 of the EGGP Act with the Department of Justice and actively pursuing title violations in the computer industry.

Continued co-operation was received from AGT in pursuing cases advertising in the yellow pages under headings reserved for APEGGA members. There were 95 enforcement cases carried over from 1994. During 1995, there were 146 new cases opened, including those from the AGT Yellow Pages, and 153 were resolved. The resolved cases consisted of 46 companies obtaining Permits to Practice and 38 violators cancelling or moving their advertisements. The remainder were resolved for other reasons, such as changing their name voluntarily; providing satisfactory evidence of not practicing; or becoming registered. Successful prosecutions for title violations via the Department of Justice and court injunctions were obtained against two individuals and forced name changes via Corporate Registry for nine companies.

The Committee's work has resulted in long hours of dedicated volunteer time. I wish to express my appreciation to the members of this committee, the association solicitor and APEGGA staff for their dedicated commitment, time and conscientious effort.

[Next Report] | [Table of Contents]