June 2006 ISSUE


GPS Expert Named Dean


Editorial Assistant

. . .moves into dean’s office July 1.

An APEGGA member and past Summit Award winner — recognized as one of Canada’s most accomplished scholars and respected teachers — will be the next dean of the University of Calgary’s Schulich School of Engineering. Dr. Elizabeth Cannon, P.Eng., a world leader in geomatics research and the recipient of numerous teaching, research and leadership awards, takes over July 1.

“Dr. Cannon’s appointment underscores the depth and international reputation of the Schulich School of Engineering,” said Dr. Harvey Weingarten, president of the University of Calgary. “She is a recognized leader in her field, she is valued and appreciated by a generation of students, and now Dr. Cannon has chosen to take on this responsibility at a turning point in the School’s history.

“It is a real coup for the University of Calgary to be able to appoint her as dean.”

Dr. Cannon’s work is in research and teaching in the area of satellite-based navigation and location systems for land, air and marine applications. APEGGA awarded her the Frank Spragins Technical Award at the 2004 Summit Awards Gala, and she is also a past winner of the Early Achievement Award.

Currently professor and head of the Department of Geomatics Engineering at the U of C, Dr. Cannon was the NSERC/Petro-Canada Chair for Women in Science and Engineering (Prairie Region) from 1997-2002 and was inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering in 2000.

“We’ve really emerged as a strong engineering program in Canada, but our goal is to be in the top handful internationally. I personally place a lot of value in excellence, and I thought it was a good match in terms of what I believe in and where the Schulich School of Engineering wants to go,” said Dr. Cannon.

“One of the things that’s particularly exciting is that Calgary is considered to be Canada’s engineering capital. We have an excellent platform from which to reach our goals, especially given the Schulich donation,” Dr. Cannon said.

Dr. Cannon received a bachelor’s degree in applied science in mathematics from Acadia University in 1982. She then moved to Calgary and received her B.Sc. in 1984, her M.Sc. in 1987 and her PhD in 1991, all from the Department of Geomatics Engineering.

Dr. Cannon has recently been named to the board for the Alberta Information and Communication Technology Institute and the board of directors for the Canada Foundation for Innovation. She is also on the boards for the Alberta Ingenuity Fund, the Alberta Science and Research Authority and the Enbridge Income Fund. Dr. Cannon is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and completed an NSERC Steacie Fellowship in 2004. Related story, page 17.

U of C Celebrates Top 40 Alumni
The University of Calgary’s Schulich School of Engineering has some very good reasons to be beaming these days.

As part of the University of Calgary’s 40th anniversary celebrations, a compilation of its top 40 alumni was unveiled. Among the brightest minds listed were six APEGGA members. They are Dr. Elizabeth Cannon, P.Eng., David Damberger, E.I.T., Charlie Fischer, P.Eng., Ron Hugo, P.Eng., Laura Lucier, E.I.T., and Dr. Janet Ronsky, P.Eng.

Petroleum Producers Recognize Stewards
Water was the theme of winning projects that saw two permit holders receive recognition at the Steward of Excellence awards from the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.

Syncrude Canada Ltd. received the award for environmental performance for its creation of a water conservation task force. Petro-Canada received the President’s Award for its partnership with the City of Edmonton to produce treated wastewater for industrial, municipal and recreational use.

Winners were chosen from 27 entries submitted to a panel of independent judges, which included industry representatives and stakeholders. Steward of Excellence awards are given to those who demonstrate a commitment to stewardship in environment, health and safety or social performance.

Alberta Project Receives U.S. Award
Power Engineering of Tulsa, Okla., has bestowed its award for best coal-fired project of the year on Genesee 3, a plant co-owned by EPCOR and TransAlta Corporation. The magazine noted that the plant is the most advanced coal-fired facility in Canada and “features the first use of supercritical technology in Canada.”

Popular Permit Holders
Alberta Venture magazine conducted its annual survey of business people throughout the province to name corporations they respect most. APEGGA permit holders made up the majority of the top three responses for each of the six categories. Names topping the lists were EnCana Corporation, Canadian Natural Resources Limited, Syncrude Canada Ltd., Suncor Energy Inc., TELUS Corporation, Finning Canada, Nexen Inc., Enmax Corporation and Enbridge Inc.

Venture also polled the general public regarding the top 50 corporations. The public was asked to rank the companies according to their knowledge of them. Among the top 50 public choices were a number of APEGGA permit holders (from highest-ranking down): Shell Canada Ltd., Shaw Communications Inc., Petro-Canada, ATCO Group, Imperial Oil Limited, Husky Energy Inc., Syncrude Canada Ltd., Suncor Energy Ltd., Precision Drilling Trust, TransCanada Pipelines Ltd., PCL Construction Group, TransAlta Corporation, ENMAX Corporation, EnCana Corporation, Talisman Energy Inc., TELUS Corporation, Enbridge Inc., Dow Chemical Canada Inc., Stantec, NOVA Chemical Corp., Canadian Natural Resources Ltd., Direct Energy, Nexen Inc. and Agrium.