Executive Committee

Dan Motyka, P.Eng., Calgary

Mr. Motyka graduated in mechanical engineering from the University of Manitoba. He spent most of his career with Gulf Canada Resources Ltd., retiring in 1991 as vice-president, production. With Gulf, he held varied responsibilities, among them overseeing its Beaufort Sea Drilling System. Subsequent to leaving Gulf, he became president and CEO of Canada Hibernia Holding Corp., and since 1995 has been president of Questor Technology Inc.

He was elected as an APEGGA Councillor in 1994 and as 1st Vice President in 1997. He has chaired the Discipline Committee and headed the Roles and Responsibilities Task Force.

Past President
Dennis Lindberg, P.Eng., Edmonton

A graduate in civil engineering from the University of Alberta, Mr. Lindberg also holds a master’s in geotechical engineering from the U of A. After working with the Department of Highways in British Columbia, a major portion of his career was spent with Thurber Consultants Ltd., of which he was a principal from 1971 to 1991. Active in many facets of APEGGA, as a Councillor (1990-93), 2nd Vice President (1994-95), 1st Vice President and then President, Mr. Lindberg has served on numerous committees, chaired the Discipline Committee and led the Task Force on Specified Scope of Practice.

1st Vice President
Darrel Danyluk, P.Eng., Calgary

Mr. Danyluk is vice-president of Reid Crowther & Partners, which he joined in 1972 in Winnipeg and he since has worked with the firm in Red Deer, Edmonton and Calgary. A University of Manitoba graduate in civil engineering, he served on APEGGA Council in the early 1980s. He was president of the Consulting Engineers of Alberta in 1991 and has served on the board and executive committee of the Association of Consulting Engineers of Canada. He chaired a national study on human resources in the consulting sector. Mr. Danyluk belongs to a number of technical societies, including the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering and the American Society of Civil Engineers.

2nd Vice President
Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., Edmonton

Ms. Parenteau holds a degree in electrical engineering from the University of Alberta and is employed as manager for switch/transport engineering and construction with TELUS Communications in Edmonton. She served as APEGGA 2nd Vice President in 1997-98 and before that, was an APEGGA Councillor for three years. She has been a member of several APEGGA committees, including the Discipline, Edmonton Career Counselling and the Subcommittee on Corporate Regulations. She is a past president of the Edmonton Chapter of the Association of Women in Engineering and Science. In 1993, she received APEGGA’s Early Accomplishment Award.


Councillors Newly Elected to Council for Three-Year Terms (Expiring in 2001)

Elaine Honsberger, P.Geoph., Calgary
Employed by Alberta Energy as a senior-level geophysicist, Ms. Honsberger graduated in 1983 from the University of Western Ontario with an Honors B.Sc. in applied geophysics. She worked in Ontario, Nova Scotia and the Northwest Territories prior to settling in Calgary. She is a past chair of APEGGA’s Act, Regulations and Bylaws Committee and also chaired the Ad Hoc Committee on Permit Holder Issues.

She has a history of active involvement in the geoscience community, including the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists, and in workplace mentoring through Operation Minerva.

Mike Smyth, P.Eng., Calgary
Mr. Smyth is manager, civil/structural engineering with Colt Engineering Corporation, Calgary Division. He has worked with several EPC companies in the oil and gas sector, and as an independent structural engineering consultant, as well as in the Arctic offshore with Canadian Marine Drilling.

He obtained a B.Sc. in civil engineering from the University of Waterloo, and a M.Sc. in structural engineering from The University of Calgary. Active in APEGGA for 10 years, Mr. Smyth currently serves on the Investigative Committee. He has chaired the Calgary Branch and the Calgary Member Liaison Committee. He is a member of the Canadian Society for Civil Engineering.

Gordon Stewart, P.Eng., Edmonton
Mr. Stewart graduated from Royal Military College in chemical engineering and served as a lieutenant with the Canadian Forces. Upon leaving the military, he held several posts in the private sector, including as a principal of Stewart Engineering Ltd., consulting for the domestic oil and gas industry. He returned to Alco Gas & Oil Production Equipment in 1977 and is now its executive vice president and VP operations. He has chaired the following APEGGA committees: Act, Regulations and Bylaws (1995-98), Enforcement Review, and Education. He belongs to the Society of Mechanical Engineers and the American Society for Testing and Materials.

Linda Van Gastel, P.Eng., Calgary
Ms. Van Gastel is general manager, engineering, with PanCanadian Petroleum Limited. Employed there since 1976, she has worked in engineering computer applications, reservoir engineering, production and operations, and marketing. A native Calgarian, she holds a B.Sc. and M.Sc. in chemical engineering from the University of Alberta. She has chaired APEGGA’s Practice Standards Committee and its workplace issues and professional practice subcommittees. She has served on the boards of the Centre for Engineering Research (C-FER) and the ASTech Awards Foundation. She belongs to the Petroleum Society of CIM, the Society of Petroleum Engineers and the Association of Women in Engineering and Science.


Council Members Continuing In Office

John Boyd, P.Geoph., Calgary
(term expires 1999)

Elizabeth Cannon, P.Eng., PhD, Calgary
(term expires 2000)

Sue Evison, P.Eng., Calgary
(term expires 1999)

Mark Lasby, P.Eng., Calgary
(term expires 1999)

Dale Miller, P.Eng., Lethbridge
(term expires 2000)

Neil O’Donnell, P.Eng., P.Geol., Edmonton
(term expires 2000)

Alice Payne, P.Geol., Calgary
(term expires 1999)

Bonnie Stowkowy, P.Eng., Calgary
(term expires 2000)

Public Members of Council

Michael Stevens-Guille,
Q.C., Edmonton

Stanley Souch, PhD., Edmonton

Donald Hoover, P.Ag., Edmonton