Summit Award Recipients

Walter H. Dilger, P. Eng., PhD (Calgary)
Centennial Leadership Award

The Association’s most prestigious honor is awarded to Dr. Dilger for advancing bridge engineering research. His professional career as a researcher, teacher and consultant spans almost four decades. He has worked on numerous bridges in Canada, including the award-winning LRT Bow River Bridge in Calgary and the newly opened Confederation Bridge to Prince Edward Island.

P. Raj Bishnoi, P. Eng., PhD (Calgary)
Frank Spragins Technical Award

Dr. Bishnoi is a professor in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at The University of Calgary. He is a sought-after consultant in Alberta and internationally; the founder of Hyprotech Ltd., the company known for its process simulation software HYSIM; and co-inventor of the "Trebble-Bishnoi Equation of State" which is used by process engineers and researchers worldwide.

Donald V. Currie, P. Geol. (Edmonton)
L. C. Charlesworth Professional Service Award
A registered geologist since 1968, Mr. Currie has served the Association and his profession for many years. As managing director of the Alberta Chamber of Resources (ACR), he led work on legislation amendments concerning the exploration and development of metallic and industrial minerals in Alberta. As a result, the government has come to rely on the ACR for advice regarding responsible resource development.

William (Bill) A. Tapuska, P. Eng. (Calgary)
Community Service Award
Mr. Tapuska had a successful career in the consulting industry as senior vice-president of UMA Engineering Ltd., and vice-president and director of UMA Group Ltd. This award recognizes his significant contributions to the welfare of less fortunate citizens in developing countries. Mr. Tapuska launched the largest project undertaken by a single Rotary Club on behalf of Operation Eyesight Universal. Some 1.5 million people have had their sight restored as a result of this work.

Suzanne M. Kresta, P. Eng., PhD (Edmonton)
Early Accomplishment Award
Dr. Kresta joined the University of Alberta as an assistant professor in 1992. Only five years later, she is the associate chair of the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering. As a researcher, she has an internationally recognized research laboratory in turbulent mixing. She actively promotes excellence in education and her students have twice honored Dr. Kresta with the Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award. Dr. Kresta is a role model for those pursuing engineering and science careers.

She is scheduled to be honored in Vancouver May 23 with the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers’ Young Engineer Achievement Award.

Dennis A. Lindberg, P. Eng. (Edmonton)
Honorary Life Membership
Honorary Life Membership is bestowed on Mr. Lindberg for his outstanding service to the Association. He served on APEGGA’s Discipline Committee for four years and was an APEGGA Councillor from 1990 to 1993. Mr. Lindberg has had a successful career at Thurber Consultants Ltd., specializing in geotechnical engineering. Mr. Lindberg served as APEGGA’s President in 1997-98, 1st Vice-President (1996-97) and 2nd Vice-President (1994-95).

J. E. (Ted) Newall Calgary)
Honorary Membership
Mr. Newall is vice chair and chief executive officer of Nova Corporation. He is actively involved in initiatives to improve business/government co-operation and to increase involvement by engineering-related corporations. As chair of the board of governors at The University of Calgary, Mr. Newall has shown personal interest and initiative on behalf of the Faculty of Engineering, including the approval of several new degrees, a planned major extension to the engineering complex, and expansion of the electrical and computer engineering department to accommodate the demand for engineers with this specialization.

The Canadian Liquefaction Experiment (CANLEX) Project (Edmonton)
Project Achievement Award
The CANLEX Project is a collaborative research endeavor with many of Canada’s prominent geotechnical experts from industry and universities. It examines the behavior of loose sand deposits and their potential to liquefy under static or dynamic loading. The project has worldwide applications, especially in the oil sands industry and areas prone to earthquakes, and will help to ensure the safe design of future structures.

Peter Robertson, P.Eng., PhD, of the University of Alberta, accepted the award on behalf of fellow participants in the project.