Previous Page | home | contact | email  





Chair: Mr. G.G. (Gordon) Stewart, P. Eng.
Members: Dr. D.G. (Don) Bellow, P.Eng.
Mr. W.D.B. (Dave) Chalcroft, P.Eng.
Dr. J.C. (Hans) den Boer, P.Geoph.
Mr. A.F. (Al) Kiernan, P.Eng.
  Mr. K.F. (Kenneth) Paulson, P.Eng.
Mr. D.H. (Dave) Rumbold, P.Eng.
Ms. L.A. (Laurie) Slezak, P.Geol.
Legal Counsel: Mr. B.J. (Barry) Massing, LL.B.
Executive Director's designates responsible for committee:
Mr. Al Schuld, P.Eng.

Terms of Reference

I Major Objective

To advise and assist the Executive Director and staff to recommend amendments to the Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions Act, Regulations and Bylaws to ensure they clearly reflect the intent of the legislation and current Association policies governing the practice of the engineering, geology and geophysics as three distinct professions.

II Program Goals

1. To ensure proposed revisions to the Act, Regulations and Bylaws are effectively and thoroughly evaluated in terms of appropriateness, conformance to policy and intent of the legislation, and consistency of wording; and are processed in a timely and effective manner.

2. With regard to other professions, occupations and activities, to review and to make recommendations to Council when requested, relative to any new and amending legislation for compatibility with the EGGP Act and Regulations.

III Committee Activities

1. To initiate, when requested by Council, revisions to any aspect of the Act, Regulations and Bylaws as the Committee deems necessary.

2. To recommend to Council revisions that are considered appropriate.

Act, Regulations and Bylaws Committee

IV Structure and Operation

1. Membership will consist of a minimum of five professional members, including at least one engineer, one geologist, one geophysicist, plus one APEGGA staff.

2. One of the members shall be appointed as Chair to retain office for at least two years.

3. Term of office for members shall normally be a minimum of three years, with sufficient overlap to ensure continuity.

4. Meetings are normally held at the call of the Chair or the APEGGA staff member.

5. The Committee Chair or designate shall report to Council as required by the Executive Director.

6. The staff member shall communicate Committee activities to the Executive Director.

Note: As authorized by Sections 34 and 35 of the Regulations, the Act, Regulations and Bylaws Committee is a standing committee established by Council.

Approved by Council on September 21, 2000