Previous Page | home | contact | email  




Board of Examiners

Chair: Dr. M.G. (Gary) Faulkner, P.Eng.
Members: Mr. D.M. (Dave) Bardwell, P.Geol.
Mr. D.H. (David) Bowman, P.Eng.
  Dr. R.W. (Robert) Brennan, P.Eng.
  Dr. D. (Dan) Candido, P.Eng.
  Dr. C.E. (Clarence) Capjack, P.Eng.
  Dr. B.F. (Bruce) Cockburn, P.Eng.
  Dr. M.J. (Michael) Collins, P.Eng.
  Dr. H.W. (Herman) Cooper, P.Geoph.
  Dr. P. (Philippe) Erdmer, P.Geol.
  Mr. B.A. (Bryan) Evans, R.P.T. (Eng.)
  Dr. D.L. (Don) Flock, P.Eng.
  Dr. E.D. (Ed) Ghent, P.Geol.
  Mr. S.C. (Stephen) Green, P.Eng.
  Mr. H.J. (Harry) Helwerda, P.Eng.
  Dr. F.E. (Faye) Hicks, P.Eng.
  Mr. A.J. (Allen) Krahn, P.Eng.
  Dr. E.S. (Edward) Krebes, P.Geoph.
  Dr. J.J. (Jerry) Leonard, P.Eng.
  Dr. D.T. (Dave) Lynch, P.Eng.
  Mr. K.S. (Ken) Mah, P.Eng.
  Mr. N.F. (Neill) McQuay, P.Eng.
  Dr. A.K. (Anil) Mehrotra, P.Eng.
  Ms. C.A. (Carol) Moen, P.Eng.
  Mr. I.R. (Ian) Norris, P.Eng.
  Dr. E. (Edo) Nyland, P.Geoph.
  Mr. N.D. (Neil) O'Donnell, P.Eng., P.Geol.
  Mr. J.B. (Brent) Parks, P.Eng.
  Dr. B. (Barry) Patchett, P.Eng.
  Prof. L.R. (Verne) Plitt, P.Eng.
  Dr. B.J. (Ben) Rostron, P.Eng., P.Geol.
  Dr. A. (Abu) Sesay, P.Eng.
  Mr. M. (Mike ) Sheen, R.E.T.
  Dr. N.G. (Nigel) Shrive, P.Eng.
  Mr. J.E. (Jim) Smith, P.Eng.
  Dr. R.W. (Roger) Toogood, , P.Eng.
  Mr. E.P. (Ted) Webb, P.Eng.
  Dr. S.C. (Chan) Wirasinghe, P.Eng.
  Mr. T.G. (Terry) Gunderson
  Dr. W.W. (Wayne) Pettapiece, P.Ag.
  Dr. J.B. (John) Railton
Executive Director's designates responsible for board:
  Mr. M.J. (Mark) Tokarik, LL.B., P.Eng.
  Mr. A.J. (Al) Schuld, P.Eng.

Terms of Reference

I Major Objectives

To confirm that individuals approved for registration in the professions of engineering, geology and geophysics meet standards of admission, in accordance with the Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions Act and Regulations.

II Specific Goals

1. To establish and maintain academic standards for admission to each of the professions.

2. To establish and maintain standards of qualifications for experience, communication ability and character for admission to each class of membership.

3. To develop and follow effective processes to review applications for each category of membership in APEGGA as required in the Act and Regulations.

4. To make applicants for professional status aware of essential elements of the responsibilities of professional practice.

5. To facilitate member mobility within Canada in the setting of registration standards.

III Principal Activities

1. Develop standards, policies and procedures that meet the intent of the Act and Regulations in all areas of registration.

2. Review all applications for membership in APEGGA and, in accordance with Section 29 of the Act, approve, defer or refuse each application after considering whether it meets the requirements of the Act and Regulations.

3. Provide and maintain an effective examination in Professional Practice.

4. Develop and maintain syllabi of examinations as required for the disciplines within engineering and the geological and geophysical professions.

5. Appoint examiners as required for the subjects in each of the syllabi; monitor and approve results of examinations.

IV Structure and Operation (Act Section 29 and Regulations Section 15)

1. Composition. The Board of Examiners consists of an Executive Committee, and additional professional members from universities in Alberta and the Association at large. The Executive Committee is composed of the Board Chair, approximately fifteen members who are academic examiners, approximately fifteen members who are experience examiners and who comprise the experience committee, three Public Members, two registered professional technologists (engineering) or engineering technologists, and the Registrar or designate.

2. Appointments and Tenure. The Chair and members of the Board are appointed by the Council of APEGGA. Tenure is normally for three years effective July 1. Academic members are chosen from the engineering, geological and geophysical disciplines at the Universities of Alberta and Calgary. Experience examiners are senior practising engineers, geologists, and geophysicists. The Deans of Engineering at the Universities of Calgary and Alberta and the Registrar of APEGGA, or his designate, are also designated as Board members. The three Public Members and the two Registered Professional Technologists (engineering) or engineering technologists are appointed by the Minister responsible for the Act, typically for three year terms.

3. The Board approves the list of examiners for setting and marking examinations, and revisions to this list.

4. The Executive Committee of the Board normally meets monthly to consider applications referred from the academic and experience examiners. Files are normally first sent to an academic examiner for individual review. Files are then reviewed by an experience examiner on an individual basis, but meetings of the Experience Committee are held as required to consider applications that require collective discussion. Applications for Registered Professional Technologists (engineering) can be referred to the 50/50 Subcommittee for further discussion if necessary. Full Board meetings are held in June and December, usually on the same date as Executive Committee meetings for that month. The Full Board considers matters of policy, significant changes in procedure, examination results, appeals and other matters referred to it by the Board's Executive Committee or the Council.

5. A quorum at meetings consists of 1/4 of the members of the Executive Committee or the Board.

6. The APEGGA Registration office performs all administrative and secretarial work for the Board. This includes preparation of agenda for and minutes of Board meetings, notifying applicants of the Board's decision, as well as scheduling, invigilation, and other tasks related to administering examinations.

7. The Board of Examiners is accountable to the Executive Director, or his designate, for committee process and administration.

Major Committees

(Each has a separate terms of reference, and is accountable to the Board of Examiners)
1. Executive Committee
2. Experience Review Committee
3. Professional Practice Examination Committee
4. Character Committee
5. 50/50 Subcommittee


Approved by Council on September 21, 2000