Previous Page | home | contact | email  




Chair: Mr. P.A. (Paul) Preville, P.Eng
Past-Chair: Mr. R.E.K. (Richard) Feilden, P.Eng.
Members: Mr. T. (Thomas) Anthony, P.Eng.
Mr. D.A. (Doug) Bassett, P.Eng.
Mr. H.C.W. (Henry) Bosman, P.Eng.
Mr. S.M. (Steve) Croxford, P.Eng.
Mr. P. (Paul) Elliott, P.Eng.
Mr. R. (Robert) Faulder, P.Eng.
Mr. L. (Leo) Flaman, P.Eng.
  Dr. U.T.B. (Upali) Hippola, P.Eng.
Ms. B.J. (Barbara) Howes, P.Eng.
Mr. D. (Doug) Jamieson, P.Eng.
Mr. P.T. (Paul) Kavanagh, P.Geol.
Ms. C. (Catherine) Kingdon, P.Eng.
  Mr. P.C. (Paul) Ledi, P.Eng.
Mr. E. (Earl) Lipsett, P.Geoph
Mr. R.G. (Graham) Lock, P.Eng.
Mr. J.D. (Doug) Macdonald, P.Eng.
Mr. J. (John) McInerney, P.Eng.
Mr. R.C. (Bob) Milburn, P.Eng. FCSCE
Ms. N.V. (Nina) Novak, P.Eng., P.Biol.
Mr. C. (Chris) Ollenberger, P.Eng.
Mr. D.R.P. (Dave) Robinson, P.Eng.
Mr. C.A. (Cameron) Sterling, P.Eng.
Dr. N.N. (Nagula) Suthaker, P.Eng.
Mr. P.D. (Phil) Lulman, P.Biol.
Legal Counsel: Mr. B.J. (Barry) Massing, LL.B.
Executive Director designate responsible for committee:
Mr. D.S. (Stewart) McIntosh, P.Eng.

Terms of Reference

I Major Objective

To investigate complaints against APEGGA members received by the Registrar, or designate, in accordance with requirements of the Engineering, Geological and Geophysicial Professions Act.

II Specific Goals

1. To achieve recognition by APEGGA members that the investigative process is an effective influence on the standards of professional practice.

2. To employ investigative procedures that recognize the rights of both a complainant and APEGGA member.

3. To implement an efficient, prompt and cost effective investigative process.

III Principal Activities

1. In response to written complaints, investigate allegations of unskilled practice of the professions or unprofessional conduct by members of APEGGA.

2. Authorize investigations into projects or matters believed to be of major consequence to the general welfare of the public.

3. When investigation results determine that a Formal Hearing is required, prosecute the matter before the Discipline Committee of the Association.

4. Maintain accurate and thorough investigative case records.

IV Structure and Operation

1. The Investigative Committee shall consist of not less than twelve members of the Association, as designated by Council.

2. Council shall designate one professional member as the chair of the Investigative Committee.

3. Term of office of each member of the Investigative Committee shall be three years. Members may be re-appointed to a subsequent term.

4. A quorum of the Investigative Committee shall consist of the Chair or acting Chair and four professional members.

5. The Chair, or in the absence of the Chair, a majority of the Investigative Committee, may appoint an acting Chair who shall have all the powers of the Chair in the absence of the Chair.

6. Term of the Chair of the Investigative Committee shall be one year.

7. At the end of term, the Chair member will continue in the following year as past Chair of the Investigative Committee.

8. The Minister shall appoint one member of the public, from a list of persons nominated by the Council, to the Investigative Committee.

9. Members of the Investigative Committee shall at all times include at least one professional engineer, one professional geologist and one professional geophysicist.

10. The Investigative Committee will be accountable to the Executive Director for committee process and administration.

11. The Investigative Committee Chair or designate shall report to Council as frequently as necessary to obtain any required approvals of policy, and in any case not less than three times per year.

Approved by Council on September 21, 2000