Chair: Barrie Touchings
Members: Glen Monson, R.E.T.
Mr. Milt Ozubko, P.Eng.
Mr. George Paicu, P.Eng.
Mr. Royce Sather, R.E.T.
Secretary: Mr. Don Byers, C.E.T.
Executive Director's designate responsible for board:
Mr. Al Schuld, P.Eng.

Terms of Reference

Rationale for Joint Board

· desirability for close structured liaison between AAA and APEGGA
· independent vehicle for mediation of disputes
· Board is a requirement of the Alberta Government Organization Act (schedule 8)

Recommended Membership of Joint Board

Four Architects

  • individuals who, through their practices, have regular contact with consulting engineers

Four Engineers

  • individuals who, through their practices, have regular contact with architects
  • appointed by APEGGA with input from CEA


  • two joint Chairs to be appointed from the Board membership, one from each profession
  • in the event of dispute resolution requirements, an external Chair to be appointed on an "as required" basis

Proposed Activities of the Joint Board

  • as described in the Organization Act, but with increased attention to matters of joint or public interest which fall outside the areas of single seals and joint firms.

Possible agenda:

  • interrelationship of professions of architecture and engineering
  • fee guidelines for buildings
  • conditions of engagement and payment of subconsultants
  • design-build
  • promotion of professions

Approved by Council on September 21, 2000