Previous Page | home | contact | email  



Chair: Mr. J.R.V. (Dick) Walters, P.Eng.
Members: Mr. B.T. (Barry) Colledge, P.Eng.
Mr. H. (Harry) Dowhan, P.Eng.
Mr. J. (Jim) Henderson, P.Geoph.
Mr. R.W. (Ron) Kozak, P.Eng.
  Mr. H.R. (Herb) Kuehne, P.Eng.
Mr. F.D. (Fred) Marlett, P.Eng.
Mr. D.A. (Don) Montalbetti, P.Eng.
Mr. K.R. (Kevin) Moodie, P.Eng.
Mr. S. (Alex) Nagy, P.Eng.
Mr. G. (Paul) Schnitzler, P.Eng.
Mr. G.G. (Grant) Smith, P.Geol.
  Mr. C.H. (Charlie) Weir, P.Eng.
  Mr. D.R. (Denis) Weir, P.Eng.
  Mr. B. E. (Bernie) Moore, P.Eng.
Executive Director's designate responsible for committee:
Mr. R.G. (Ray) Chopiuk, P.Eng.

Terms of Reference

I Major Objective

To enhance the quality and value of professional service to the public in all areas of professional practice.

II Specific Goals

1. To achieve uniformly high standards of professional practice which meet the intent of the Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions Act and which identify what the public should expect from any professional member of APEGGA.

2. To achieve acceptance of APEGGA guidelines on the discharge of professional responsibility.

3. To achieve an atmosphere in which a competent and effective consulting industry can thrive and produce direct benefits to the public.

4. To achieve effective dialogue with APEGGA membership, appropriate agencies and the affected public regarding the work being undertaken by the Practice Standards Committee.

III Principal Activities

1. Develop and publish guidelines in all areas of professional practice which have a direct bearing on the quality and value of the professional services to the public.

2. Develop and publish guidelines on provision of professional services. These guidelines would deal with issues such as selecting appropriately qualified professionals, establishing scope of services to be expected, and promoting appropriate remuneration.

3. Inform the public and APEGGA members regarding the Practice Standards Committee's objectives and activities through speaking engagements, seminars and PEGG articles.

4. Recommend to Council appropriate members for appointment to public boards and organizations whose function is to improve standards and safety of works. Establish appropriate communications links for members appointed to such boards and organizations to ensure that issues are dealt with in a timely manner.

5. Process enquiries of a technical nature by referring such matters to the appropriate agencies. The PSC will establish direct contact between the enquirer and the responsible agency, and, where public protection is affected, will monitor progress to ensure that issues are addressed.

IV Structure and Operation

1. The committee shall consist of no less than twelve members, each appointed for a three-year term in accordance with the following criteria:

a) No less than one member of the Committee shall be a geologist, and no less than one shall be a geophysicist;
b) The Past President of Consulting Engineers of Alberta (CEA) will be nominated by CEA for a 2-year term as a regular member of the Committee and in addition, act as a communication conduit between CEA and PSC;
c) Consulting, government and industry shall be represented on the Committee. (The objective will have no less than seven members who act as "responsible members" for permit holders.);
d) All members shall be experienced in the practice, or in directing the practice of either engineering, geology or geophysics;
e) The member who serves as PSC Chair shall continue on for the following year as Past Chair.

2. The Committee shall meet no less than seven times per year. The following orientation and planning activities will be emphasized during the first two and last meetings:
· orientation and education of new members on the purpose of APEGGA and the role of the PSC;
· planning next year's programs of activity for each of the three professions;

3. Subcommittees chaired by members of the PSC shall be established to carry out programs of activities for the three professions. Subcommittee members can be selected from outside the PSC.

4. The PSC will be accountable to the Executive Director for committee process and administration.

Approved by Council on September 21, 2000