menu 1
menu 2
menu 3
menu 4
menu 5


Many companies use the generally adequate and less time consuming (but less precise) classification system commonly called the ABC system. This system broadly describes each level of responsibility according to five factors: Duties; Recommendations, decisions and commitments; Supervision received; Leadership authority and/or supervision exercised; and Guide to entrance qualifications. A copy of the description for each level of responsibility is provided in Appendix A. An abbreviated Job Classification Guide of the ABC system is shown below.

As many salary surveys are carried out using the ABC system, it is useful to be able to equate the results of the Point-Count Job Evaluation system and the Job Classification system. Application of the two systems has not been completely standardized across companies so absolute relationships cannot be set. A reasonable relationship between the two systems can be established and this is shown in the chart below. Individual companies will vary to some degree.