

NEWS RELEASE April 27, 2002

ALBERTA'S LARGEST PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION ELECTS NEW PRESIDENT, EXECUTIVE AND COUNCIL

Edmonton, Alberta – Alberta's largest professional association, The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) welcomed its new president at the 2002 Annual General Meeting today.

Ron Tenove, P.Eng. is APEGGA's 83rd president and has served on APEGGA Council since 1999 and active in APEGGA since 1977. His goal in the upcoming year is to increase the profile of strategic relationships with other professions and technologists and to achieve the first Alberta – USA bilateral agreement on mobility for engineers.

"The professions of engineering, geology and geophysics are leaders in the Alberta Advantage," says Tenove. "There is a need to create greater awareness of the many contributions made by these professionals to the economy and society."

Ron has over 30 years experience as a consulting engineer working throughout western Canada as project manager, corporate executive, marketing consultant and executive coach. He is presently director, corporate development with the Focus Corporation Ltd. providing advanced geomatics technologies and infrastructure engineering services globally.

APEGGA Past President, Dale Miller, P.Eng. says, "Ron's management experience will contribute greatly to APEGGA's strategic direction and initiatives to enhance the professions and showcase the contributions of our 36,000 members."

The 2002 APEGGA Executive includes the past president, president, 1st and 2nd vice-presidents and Mr. Neil Windsor, executive director. Mr. Mike Smyth, P.Eng. was elected 1st vice-president and Mr. Andrew Gilliland, P.Eng. was elected 2nd vice-president. Mr. Mike Smyth has been an active APEGGA volunteer since 1988 and Mr. Gilliland since 1980.

Newly elected councilors include: Ms. Julie Aitken, P. Geoph., Dr. John Moldon, P. Eng., Mr. Jack Hole, P. Eng., Dr. Ian McIlreath, P. Geol. and Mr. Mike Koziol, P. Eng. Councilors continuing in office include: Ms. Paula Harding, P.Eng., Dr. Robert Stewart, P.Geoph., Mr. Nick Trovato, P.Eng., Mr. Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., Mr. Shawn Morrison, P.Eng., Dr. Peter Putnam, P. Geol. and Mr. Ron Triffo, P.Eng.. Continuing public members include Dr. Norman Wagner, Mr. Hugh Planche and Ms. Judy Williams.

Established in 1920, APEGGA is responsible for licensing and regulating the practices of engineering, geology and geophysics in the province of Alberta, and this year celebrates 82 years of service to Albertans. The Association's 36,000 individual and corporate members play a significant role in every segment of the economy, and their technical and management expertise ensure Alberta remains at the forefront of business innovation.

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Chrys. Dmytruk, P.Eng., Director Communications & Public Affairs and Public Affairs Sherrell Steele, B.Ed., Manager of Public Relations APEGGA

Telephone (780) 426-3990 or Toll Free 1-800-661-7020 Fax (780) 425-1722

Email: e-mail@apegga.org

www.apegga.org