

MEDIA RELEASE - revised

April 28, 2003

APEGGA ANNOUNCES NEW PRESIDENT, EXECUTIVE AND COUNCIL

Calgary, Alberta – Mr. Mike Smyth, P.Eng. was sworn into office as the new President of the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) at the 2003 Annual General Meeting April 26th.

Mr. Smyth is APEGGA's 84th president and has served APEGGA for over 15 years, including four years on Council.

"APEGGA is the leading provincial association in Canada, " says Mr. Smith. "As always, however, there are opportunities and challenges facing the Association and I look forward to helping tackle them."

Mr. Smyth's career began in drilling operations and research in the arctic offshore, followed by six years as an independent consultant. He has worked in the EPC industry for over 10 years and is currently a senior project manager at Optima Engineers and Constructors.

The APEGGA Executive includes the President, President Elect, Vice President and Mr. Neil Windsor, Executive Director. Ms. Linda Van Gastel, P.Eng. was elected President Elect and Mr. Andrew Gilliland, P.Eng. was elected Vice President. Ms. Van Gastel has been an active APEGGA member since 1991 and Mr. Gilliland since 1980.

Newly elected councilors include: Mr. Dave Chalcroft, P.Eng., Ms. Kim Farwell, P.Eng., Ms. Darcie Greggs, P.Geol., and Ms. Barbara Howes, P.Eng. Councilors continuing in office include: Ms. Julie Aitken, P.Geoph., Ms. Paula Harding, P.Eng., Mr. Jack Hole, P.Eng., Mr. Mike Koziol, P.Eng., Mr. Ian McIlreath, P.Geol., Mr. John Moldon, P.Eng., Mr. Rob Stewart, P.Geoph., and Mr. Nick Trovato, P.Eng. Continuing public members include Mr. Larry Ohlhauser, Mr. Hugh Planche, Mr. Norm Wagner, OC, LLD.

Established in 1920, APEGGA is responsible for regulating the practice of engineering, geology and geophysics in the province of Alberta. The Association's 38,000 individual and corporate members play a significant role in every segment of the economy, and their technical and management expertise ensure Alberta remains at the forefront of technological innovation.

- 30 -

For more information, contact: Tara Richardson, Public Relations Coordinator APEGGA Telephone (780) 426-3990 or Toll Free 1-800-661-7020 Fax (780) 425-1722 Email: trichardson@apegga.org