

NEWS RELEASE

April 26, 2002 For Immediate Release

NEW St. Albert Resident Elected to APEGGA Council

Edmonton – Mike Koziol, P.Eng, a new resident of St. Albert, was elected to sit on The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists (APEGGA) council today.

16 elected professional members and three public representatives appointed by the government, sit on council. They are responsible for overseeing APEGGA affairs.

"The protection and safety of the public remains the paramount responsibility of APEGGA," say Koziol "Engineers, geologists and geophysicists adopt excellence as a fundamental goal and govern themselves accordingly to the highest practice standards and code of ethics outlined by their professional association. "

"I was offered a really great job opportunity and so I took it," says Koziol. "I couldn't have found a better community."

The 2002 APEGGA Executive includes the past president, president, 1st and 2nd vice-presidents and Mr. Neil Windsor, executive director. Mr. Mike Smyth, P.Eng. was elected 1st vice-president and Mr. Andrew Gilliland, P.Eng. was elected 2nd vice-president. Mr. Mike Smyth has been an active APEGGA volunteer since 1988 and Mr. Gilliland since 1980.

Newly elected councilors include: Ms. Julie Aitken, P. Geoph., Dr. John Moldon, P. Eng., Mr. Jack Hole, P. Eng., Dr. Ian McIlreath, P. Geol. and Mr. Mike Koziol, P. Eng. Councilors continuing in office include: Ms. Paula Harding, P.Eng., Dr. Robert Stewart, P.Geoph., Mr. Nick Trovato, P.Eng., Mr. Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., Mr. Shawn Morrison, P.Eng., Dr. Peter Putnam, P. Geol. and Mr. Ron Triffo, P.Eng.. Continuing public members include Dr. Norman Wagner, Mr. Hugh Planche and Ms. Judy Williams.

Established in 1920, APEGGA is responsible for licensing and regulating the practices of engineering, geology and geophysics in the province of Alberta, and this year celebrates 82 years of service to Albertans. The Association's 36,000 individual and corporate members play a significant role in every segment of the economy, and their technical and management expertise ensure Alberta remains at the forefront of business innovation.

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Chrys. Dmytruk, P.Eng., Director Communications & Public Affairs and Public Affairs To arrange for an interview, contact:

Sherrell Steele, B.Ed., Manager of Public Relations Telephone (780) 426-3990 or Toll Free 1-800-661-7020 Fax (780) 425-1722 www.apegga.org

attached: Bio