



The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta **NEWS RELEASE** April 26, 2002 For Immediate Release

For More Information Contact

Chrys. Dmytruk, MBA, P.Eng. Director, Communications & Public Affairs (780) 426-3990 ext. 809

Bronwen Strembiski Public Relations Coordinator (780) 426-3990 ext. 367

email@apegga.org www.apegga.org

APEGGA, Alberta's Largest Professional Association Recognizes Provincial Excellence

Edmonton – Dr. Kumar Nandakumar, P.Eng., an educational leader at the University of Alberta, is one of eleven award winners recognized yesterday for their outstanding contributions to make a better Alberta. The Summit Awards[®] are presented annually by The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA). The awards recognize technical and project excellence, care for the environment, community involvement, and professional service and achievement.

"The recipients that we are recognizing play a significant role in every segment of the economy," says Miller "Through their research, teaching, technical and managerial expertise, Alberta remains at the forefront of technological innovation."

Other Edmonton based award winners are Allan Kwan, P.Eng., who received the APEGGA Community Service Award for outstanding contributions to society and Dean Mullin, P.Eng., who received the APEGGA Early Accomplishment Awards for exceptional achievement in the initial years of a professional career. For a complete list of winners see attached.

"This year's theme for the Summit Awards[®] *Infinite Possibilities - Unlimited Potential* reflects the exceptional contributions individuals and projects make to Alberta's economy and society," says Dale Miller, P.Eng., president of APEGGA. "Alberta's engineers and geoscientists are researching, inventing, designing and implementing innovations everyday."

Summit...page two

Now in it's twelfth year, the Summit Awards[®] gala on April 25, was attended by over 800 individuals from the engineering, geoscience, education, corporate and government communities.

APEGGA is responsible for regulating the practice of engineering, geology and geophysics in Alberta. APEGGA's authority is derived from an Alberta statute, The Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions (EGGP) Act. Under the EGGP Act, licensure with APEGGA is required to practice engineering, geology or geophysics Alberta. APEGGA has served Albertans since 1920, now with over 36,000 members.

-30-

Attached: complete list of winners

2002 APEGGA SUMMIT AWARD WINNERS

APEGGA Centennial Leadership Award • Dr. William A. Slusarchuk, P.Eng.

For highest distinction to an executive or director of an outstanding project

Dr. Slusarchuck recently retired as president of Calgary-based AMEC Earth and Environment Ltd. after more than 37 years in geotechnical research, engineering and management.

APEGGA Honorary Life Membership • Dale Miller, P.Eng.

For eminent service allied to the Association

Serving APEGGA for over ten years, Mr. Miller is completing his term as president.

APEGGA L.C. Charlesworth Professional Service Award • Dave Chalcroft, P.Eng.

For diligent service, substantial contributions and advancement of professional status Mr. Chalcroft has made outstanding and diligent contributions to the profession, as demonstrated by his professional accomplishments and his record of service to three professional associations.

APEGGA Community Service Award • Allan Kwan, P.Eng.

For outstanding contributions to society

In addition to writing numerous papers and giving numerous presentations, Mr. Kwan has contributed unselfishly to his community and profession.

APEGGA Early Accomplishment Award • Dean Mullin, P.Eng.

For exceptional achievement in the early years of a professional career Mr. Mullin's "out-of-the-box thinking" has resulted in efficient-innovative solutions to a variety of structural challenges.

APEGGA Excellence in Education Award • Dr. K. Nandakumar, P.Eng.

For exemplary contributions to teaching and learning

Dr. Nandakumar has built up strong credentials in both teaching and research; he has received several excellence in teaching awards.

APEGGA Frank Spragins Technical Award • Dr. G.A. Karim, P.Eng.

For recognized integrity, expertise and outstanding accomplishments

Dr. Karim's research and innovations have resulted in great advancements in combustion and energy utilization, resulting in the clean and efficient use of fuels in internal combustion engines.

APEGGA Environmental Excellence Award • Not in My Backyard: City of Red Deer Waste Management Facility

For environmental preservation and practice of sustainable development

The City of Red Deer's waste management facility takes a new approach that will lead the way for others. It is an integrated facility that includes not only a landfill, but also a composting pad, recycling/salvage area, permanent household hazardous waste depot, and an interpretive centre.

APEGGA Project Achievement Award • Wi-LAN BWS 3500 Communications Project For substantial technological progress and betterment of society

This project provides for the development of a two-way data communications product, developed for high-speed wireless access in the 3.5 GHz frequency band.

APEGGA Alberta Ingenuity Fund Research Excellence Awards • Dr. O.P. Malik, P.Eng. For innovative research used to improve economic and social well being

Dr. Malik has done innovative and pioneering work in the development of adaptive and artificial intelligence based controllers used in the generation of electricity.

APEGGA Honourary Membership Awards • James Gray, O.C.

For innovation and leadership skills used to contribute to the betterment of society Mr. Gray is an impressive leader in the oil and gas industry. His focus on social consciousness plays a key role in achieving greater awareness of conservation and environmental sustainability.