

## **NEWS RELEASE**

### April 26, 2002 For Immediate Release

### **Excellence in Lethbridge Community**

**Edmonton –** The president of the largest professional association and Lethbridge resident, Dale Miller, P.Eng. received the Honorary Life Membership Award at the Summit Awards® in Edmonton yesterday. The Summit Awards® are presented annually by The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA). Eleven awards in total recognize technical and project excellence, care for the environment, community involvement, and professional service and achievement.

The APEGGA governing Council confers Honorary Life Membership in the Association upon any professional member who has rendered eminent service to the Association. It has been the Association's practice to grant this award to each outgoing president.

As APEGGA's 82<sup>nd</sup> president, Miller actively promoted the vision, mission and values of the association to members, business leaders and the public. During his term of office, Miller promoted public interest and safety. Looking to increase association awareness, Miller made mobility, advocacy and relevancy top priorities.

Miller's commitment to APEGGA began in 1989 as a member of the Lethbridge Executive Committee; where in 1991 he served as chair. He has been a member of Publications and Editorial Advisory Committee (1993-1994), Discipline Committee (1994-1996), APEGGA Council (1994-1996), Relevance Task Force (1999-2000), and Investigative Committee (1998-Present).

APEGGA is responsible for regulating the practice of engineering, geology and geophysics in Alberta. APEGGA's authority is derived from an Alberta statute, The Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions (EGGP) Act. Under the EGGP Act, licensure with APEGGA is required to practice engineering, geology or geophysics in Alberta. APEGGA has served Albertans since 1920, now with over 36,000 members.

-30-

#### For further information contact:

Chrys. Dmytruk, P.Eng. (Director, Communications & Public Affairs) (780) 426-3990 extension 809
Carmen Killick (Public Relations Coordinator) (780) 426-3990
1-800-661-7020

<sup>\*</sup> Complete winners list attached

### 2002 APEGGA SUMMIT AWARD® WINNERS

#### APEGGA Centennial Leadership Award • Dr. William A. Slusarchuk, P.Eng.

For highest distinction to an executive or director of an outstanding project

Dr. Slusarchuck recently retired as president of Calgary-based AMEC Earth and Environment Ltd. after more than 37 years in geotechnical research, engineering and management.

#### APEGGA Honorary Life Membership • Dale Miller, P.Eng.

For eminent service allied to the Association

Serving APEGGA for over ten years, Mr. Miller is completing his term as president.

## APEGGA L.C. Charlesworth Professional Service Award • Dave Chalcroft, P.Eng. For diligent service, substantial contributions and advancement of professional status

Mr. Chalcroft has made outstanding and diligent contributions to the profession, as demonstrated by his professional accomplishments and his record of service to three professional associations.

#### APEGGA Community Service Award • Allan Kwan, P.Eng.

#### For outstanding contributions to society

In addition to writing numerous papers and giving numerous presentations, Mr. Kwan has contributed unselfishly to his community and profession.

#### APEGGA Early Accomplishment Award • Dean Mullin, P.Eng.

For exceptional achievement in the early years of a professional career

Mr. Mullin's "out-of-the-box thinking" has resulted in efficient-innovative solutions to a variety of structural challenges.

### APEGGA Excellence in Education Award • Dr. K. Nandakumar, P.Eng.

For exemplary contributions to teaching and learning

Dr. Nandakumar has built up strong credentials in both teaching and research; he has received several excellence in teaching awards.

#### APEGGA Frank Spragins Technical Award • Dr. G.A. Karim, P.Eng.

For recognized integrity, expertise and outstanding accomplishments

Dr. Karim's research and innovations have resulted in great advancements in combustion and energy utilization, resulting in the clean and efficient use of fuels in internal combustion engines.

# APEGGA Environmental Excellence Award • Not in My Backyard: City of Red Deer Waste Management Facility

#### For environmental preservation and practice of sustainable development

The City of Red Deer's waste management facility takes a new approach that will lead the way for others. It is an integrated facility that includes not only a landfill, but also a composting pad, recycling/salvage area, permanent household hazardous waste depot, and an interpretive centre.

## APEGGA Project Achievement Award • Wi-LAN BWS 3500 Communications Project For substantial technological progress and betterment of society

This project provides for the development of a two-way data communications product, developed for high-speed wireless access in the 3.5 GHz frequency band.

## APEGGA Alberta Ingenuity Fund Research Excellence Awards • Dr. O.P. Malik, P.Eng. For innovative research used to improve economic and social well being

Dr. Malik has done innovative and pioneering work in the development of adaptive and artificial intelligence based controllers used in the generation of electricity.

#### APEGGA Honourary Membership Awards • James Gray, O.C.

For innovation and leadership skills used to contribute to the betterment of society

Mr. Gray is an impressive leader in the oil and gas industry. His focus on social consciousness plays a key role in achieving greater awareness of conservation and environmental sustainability.