Branch Executive

Kris Kumar, P.Eng., Chair
Allister Barteski, P.Eng.
Salah ud Din, P.Eng.
Rattan Garcha, P.Eng.
Paul Hagar, P.Eng.
Kathy Hakimattar, P.Eng.
Jonathan Matthews, P.Eng.
Shawn Morrison, P.Eng.
Prakash Mullick, P.Eng.
Jay Riat, P.Eng.
Ashok Sehgal, P.Eng.
Mike Sneath, P.Eng.
Peter Stapleton, P.Eng.
Rauf Sultan, P.Eng.
Swami Swaminathan, P.Eng.
Duane Treacy, P.Eng.
Walter Wabischewich, P.Eng.
Brenda Wright, P.Geol.

Fort McMurray Branch

Kris Kumar, P.Eng., Chair

The Fort McMurray Branch had an extremely active year. Our focus was promoting APEGGA's involvement in the community, as well as member participation in all events. One of the highlights of the year was the New Member Induction Ceremony, which coincided with the President's Visit. The Fort McMurray Branch was the first branch outside Edmonton and Calgary to host this event. Seven new professional members were inducted at the ceremony.

The Environmental Guidelines Seminar was a big hit with 70 practicing members attending, which raised the awareness of APEGGA's environmental guidelines in the practice of engineering and geosciences.

Engineering Students' Night, Teacher's Award Dinner and Internet presentation were overwhelmingly successful, and increased the awareness of APEGGA in the community. During the year, four branch-related news items were published in the Fort McMurray Today newspaper. In addition, career counselling efforts and promoting APEGGA at the Oil Sands Interpretive Centre continue at our usual high level.

Two technical events were jointly sponsored with other professional associations. This enhanced the attendance at our branch events by members from other associations.

Our branch took the initiative to amend the Branch Manual, and presented a draft to other branch chairs for their comments.

We are very proud of the achievements this year of a dynamic group of individuals on the executive. I would like to extend my sincere appreciation to the present executive for their support and hard work, and look forward to working with the new executive in the coming year.

[Next Report] | [Branch list]