"Awarded to a member of APEGGA who has attained the highest distinction relating to the science of engineering, geology or geophysics as an executive or director of an outstanding project or continuing enterprise in which the member has conducted, guided or directed or was responsible for the practice of the specific profession. The nominee may have also attained the highest distinction because of invention, research or original work, or an outstanding or exemplary career in teaching the professions".

Dr. William A. Slusarchuk, P.Eng.

Dr. William Slusarchuk recently retired as president of Calgary-based AMEC Earth and Environmental Ltd. after more than 37 years in geotechnical research, engineering and management.

Dr. Slusarchuk is a specialist in geotechnical, pipeline and permafrost engineering, and since 1966 he has been involved in geotechnical and permafrost activities in the areas of thaw settlement, frost heave, slope stability, foundation design and geothermal analysis related to pipelines and landfill disposal sites.

Dr. Slusarchuk received a degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Toronto in 1963, a Master of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Guelph in 1967 and a Doctorate in Civil Engineering from Rutgers University in New Jersey in 1971. Most of his graduate research was in frozen soil and frost heave.

In 1970, Dr. Slusarchuk joined the National Research Council (NRC), Division of Building Research, as a Research Officer. He continued his research in permafrost engineering with emphasis on the design of gas and oil pipelines in northern areas. With Mackenzie Valley Pipeline Research Ltd. he participated in the design, instrumentation and analysis of a full-scale buried hot oil pipeline at a test facility in Inuvik. He established a permafrost laboratory at the NRC, and taught an evening graduate course in permafrost engineering at the University of Ottawa.

He joined AMEC Earth and Environmental (R.M. Hardy & Associates at that time) in 1973 as Senior Geotechnical Engineer and held positions as Geotechnical Division Manager, Calgary Area Manager and General Manager - Prairie Division, before being appointed as President in 1985.

Dr. Slusarchuk became President of Hardy Associates (1978) Ltd., an employee owned firm with a staff of 200 and revenue of $13 million. In 1986, AGRA Industries (now AMEC Inc.) purchased the shares of Hardy employees. He was appointed to lead a combination of Hardy Associates and BBT Geotechnical Consultants that AGRA owned. At that time, Dr. Slusarchuk went on a mission to build the firm through acquisitions and steady internal growth. Under his leadership, several major acquisitions were made and upon retirement in December 2000, the company had an organization of 2500 staff throughout Canada, the U.S. and internationally.

The list of projects that Dr. Slusarchuk has been closely involved in includes Enbridge's Norman Wells to Zama Oil Pipeline project, Esso/Gulf/Dome Beaufort Sea Regional Clearance Program, Polar Gas pipeline, Foothills Gas Pipeline and Arctic Gas Pipeline. More recently, he has been involved with the two new projects to bring natural gas from Prudhoe Bay and the Mackenzie Delta to southern markets.

Dr. Slusarchuk was a member of a number of associations including the Canadian Geotechnical Society, the International Society of Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering, the Engineering Institute of Canada, the Permafrost Subcommittee of the National Research Council, and the Calgary Chamber of Commerce. He also on the council of APEGGA and the Board of Directors of the Consulting Engineers of Alberta.

Previous Recipients

2001 David T. Lynch, P.Eng., PhD
2000 J. Lagadin, P.Eng.
1999 J.E.C. Carter, P.Eng.
1998 W. H. Dilger, P.Eng., PhD
1997 D. J. L. Kennedy, P.Eng., PhD
1996 M. M. Williams, P.Eng.
1995 L. T. Bruton, P.Eng., PhD
1994 G. J. Maier, P.Eng., FCAE
1993 F. D. Otto, P.Eng., PhD
1992 A. R. Pasini, P.Eng.
1991 A. G. Slekys, P.Eng., PhD
1990 W. Taciuk, P.Eng.
1989 C. W. Bowman, P.Eng., PhD
1988 A. B. Coady, P.Eng.
1987 A. W. Howard, P.Eng.
1986 J. G. MacGregor, P.Eng.
1985 G. M. Furnival, P.Geol., PhD
1984 N. R. Morgenstern, P.Eng.
1983 Award not presented
1982 R. O. Lindseth, P.Geoph.
1981 R. A. Hemstock, P.Eng.
1980 D. B. Robinson, P.Eng., PhD
1979 C. R. Stelck, P.Geol.
1978 W. A. B. Saunders, P.Eng.
1977 R. N. McManus, P.Eng.
1976 F. K. Spragins, P.Eng.
1975 G. Ford, P. Eng., PhD
1974 N. A. Lawrence, P.Eng.
1973 R. E. Follinsbee, P.Geol., PhD
1972 T. Blench, P.Eng.
1971 L. E. Gads, P.Eng.
1970 L. A. Thorssen, P.Eng.
1969 G. W. Govier, P.Eng.
1968 R. M. Hardy, P.Eng.
1967 J. C. Sproule, P.Geol.