"This award is presented to members of APEGGA who have served their profession diligently for many years and made substantial contributions to the operation of the Association and the advancement of its professional status."

Dave Chalcroft, P.Eng.

Mr. Chalcroft has made an outstanding and diligent contribution to the profession, as demonstrated by his professional accomplishments and his record of service to three professional associations.

Mr. Chalcroft has recently retired as Senior Vice President at UMA; where he was responsible for the national earth and water market sector which comprises water and wastewater treatment, earth and environmental, and water management business lines. Since 1990, Mr. Chalcroft has progressively served as UMA's Vice President, Southern Alberta Region and Senior Vice President responsible for UMA's Engineering Operations in Alberta and British Columbia.

Mr. Chalcroft graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering in 1964. He joined UMA Engineering Ltd. after graduation. From 1964 to 1967 he was a Resident Engineer for projects in Canada and Australia. From 1967 to 1970 he served as Design Engineer on several projects for Manitoba Hydro. From 1970 to 1972 he was the Project Engineer for a comprehensive water resources study of St. Vincent, West Indies, and for the implementation of a $1.25 million water supply system for the capital city of Kingstown.

As Head, Water Resources Department, he was the Project Manager for a number of large oil and gas industry projects from 1972 to 1979. This included the $75 million Syncrude Canada Ltd. plant water supply system and the $40 million Beaver Creek diversion project, also for Syncrude.

For the next 10 years (1979-1989) as Manager, Civil and Industrial Engineering, he was the Senior Project Manager for projects that included the $325 million Oldman River Dam project in Southern Alberta and the $160 million Dickson Dam project on the Red Deer River.

Throughout his career, Mr. Chalcroft has dedicated his enthusiasm, time, energy and efforts to the advancement of his profession by serving APEGGA, the Association of Consulting Engineers of Canada (ACEC), and the Consulting Engineers of Alberta (CEA) in a variety of roles. He has served ACEC as the Chair (2000-2001) and Director from 1997 to 2002. He was the President of CEA from 1994-1995 and a Director from 1992 to 2001.

Mr. Chalcroft has been a member of APEGGA since 1972, serving on the Practice Review Board from 1990-1993, chairing this Board for 1992-1993 and working on the Act, Regulations and Bylaws Committee from 1998 to present.

Dr. Lionel Clare Charlesworth, a past president of APEGGA (1924-25). He was appointed Deputy Minister of Alberta Public Works in 1915 and also served as Deputy Minister of Railways and Telephones until 1921. Until his retirement in 1945, he devoted his life to the highly important work of irrigation in southern Alberta, and was instrumental in establishing the Eastern Irrigation District in 1935.

Previous Recipients:

2001 Robert Ross, P.Eng.
2000 J.A. Howard, P.Eng.
1999 D.T. Irving, P.Eng.
1998 D.V. Currie, P.Geol.
1997 G.D. Williams, P.Geol., PhD
1996 N.A. Cleland, P.Eng.
1995 W.L. Fraser, P.Eng.
1994 J.M. Browning, P.Geol.
1993 W.D. Usher, ALS, BCLS, CLS, P.Eng.
1992 D.W. Devenny, P.Geol., P.Eng., PhD
1991 D.A. Carswell, P.Eng.
1990 E.A. Bernard, P.Eng., F.D. Otto, P.Eng., PhD
1989 G.J. DeSorcy, P.Eng.
1988 R.H. Savage, P.Eng., C.H. Weir, P.Eng.
1987 M.J. Ozubko, P.Eng., R. Shortreed, P.Eng.
1986 T.H. Barton, P.Eng., PhD, H.L. Morrison, P.Eng.
1985 H.A.R. de Paiva, P.Eng., PhD
1984 L.R. Newby, P.Eng.
1983 G. Adam, P.Eng., R.O. Fisher, P.Eng.
1982 D.G. Bellow, P.Eng., PhD, J.L.A. Carey, P.Eng., G. Ford, P.Eng., PhD
1981 V.D. Thierman, P.Eng., E.J. Sanden, P.Eng, D.W. Purdy, P.Eng., A.J.L. Fisher, P.Eng.
1980 E.M. Berlie, P.Eng., R.D. Grantham, P.Eng., K. Puffer, P.Eng., H.S. Ragan, P.Eng.
1979 F.W. Beairsto, P.Eng., N.J. Christie, P.Geoph., R.F. Comstock, P.Eng., I.G. Finlay, P.Eng.
1978 E.K. Cumming, P.Eng.
1977 J. Longworth, P.Eng., S.H. Matheson, P.Eng., D.R. Stanley, P.Eng.
1976 C.S. Clendenning, P.Eng., T.D. Stanley, P.Eng., C.A. Stollery, P.Eng.
1975 A. Baxter, P.Eng., J.G. Dale, P.Eng., J.F. McDougall, P.Eng., J. McMillan, P.Eng
1974 P.L. Debney, P.Eng.