"This award is presented to members
of APEGGA who have made exemplary contributions to teaching and learning at a recognized post-secondary teaching establishment in Alberta."

Dr. K. Nandakumar, P.Eng


Dr. Nandakumar has built up strong credentials in both teaching and research and has received several excellence in teaching awards. He has received the award for excellence in teaching chemical engineering from the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Alberta five times (1985-86, 1991-92, 1997-98, 1998-99, 2000-01), and in 2001 Dr. Nandakumar received the highest teacher award at the university level, the AC Rutherford Award.

In teaching graduate level courses, Dr. Nandakumar strives to link recent developments in the literature to the well-established body of work in textbooks. He clearly challenges the students at a more advanced level. His teaching practice maintains a high degree of rigor while controlling the pace.

As an educational leader, Dr. Nandakumar's primary role is in incorporating the most recent educational technologies effectively to augment his lessons. Dr. Nandakumar has long been a visionary in the development of computer based course material. His style of educational leadership by example results in a small but effective sphere of influence. Dr. Nandakumar is readily available to consult with colleagues.

Dr. Nandakumar received his B.Tech. from Madras University in 1973, M.SC. degree from University of Saskatchewan in 1975 and his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1979. While teaching two courses at the University of Alberta, he worked a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Chemical Engineering. After a brief encounter with research for Gulf Canada, Dr. Nandakumar returned to the University of Alberta in 1983.

Dr. Nandakumar has published over 80 research articles in leading journals. He was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship from German government during 1989-1990. In 1991, Dr. Nandakumar won the Albright and Wilson Americas award from the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering. Dr. Nandakumar was elected to the Fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada in 1991. During the 1992-1993 year, Mr. Nandakumar received the McCalla Professorship from the University of Alberta. He received the Meritorious Research Award from ESTAC in 2000 for the best project from among the ones funded by ESTAC. In 2001, Dr. Nandakumar was awarded the Killam Annual Professorship by the University of Alberta in recognition of excellence in research, teaching and community service.

Dr. Nandakumar serves the profession in many ways: as a referee to journals and funding agencies, examiner to APEGGA, examiner to numerous M.Sc. and Ph.D. oral exams in Alberta and across Canada, session chair to national conferences, etc.

Dr. Nandakumar also enjoys volunteer efforts that take him to high schools: judging local science fairs and participating in the New Neighbourhood program of the Edmonton immigrant society.

Previous Recipients

2001 Gary Faulkner, P.Eng., PhD
2000 A.K. Mehrotra, P.Eng., PhD