"The award recognizes professionals in academia or industry who have conducted innovative research in engineering, geology or geophysics, and that research has been successfully applied to improve our economic and social well being."

Dr. O.P. Malik, P.Eng.


Dr. O.P. Malik personifies excellence, diligence, integrity, zeal for innovation and individual responsibility. He has a long and impressive career in the academic research field, has demonstrated excellence in teaching and has published extensively. He has done innovative and pioneering work in the development of adaptive and artificial intelligence based controllers used in the generation of electricity. His research group at the University of Calgary was first in the world to propose and investigate digital/adaptive controllers for on-line applications in electric power generators. These controllers are now being used in many large electricity generating stations iaround the world.

Dr. Malik has written 239 publications in technical journals and has had 210 papers printed in conference proceedings all over the world.

He has supervised 31 Ph.D. students and 17 master's students and has attracted 25 research scholars and post-doctorate fellows from all over the world. Because of his worldwide recognition, Dr. Malik was invited to provide research consultation under a United Nations development program in India. With funding from Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), he taught graduate students and faculty in Egypt and developed a research laboratory at the University of Cairo.

Dr. Malik has served as administrator at the University of Calgary (U of C) for over 15 years. As Associate Dean (Academic) and Head of Common Curriculum, Faculty of Engineering, U of C, he has completely overhauled the Complimentary Studies program and instituted other innovations in the engineering undergraduate program.

He has volunteered for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Canadian Electrical Association (CEA) for over 30 years.

The award was originally named the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Science and Engineering Research (AHFSER).

*This is the first year this Award has been presented


"The Council may confer Honorary Membership in APEGGA upon any person, who through initiative and leadership, has rendered eminent service allied with the professions. The nominee's work will have contributed to the betterment of society through the development of new material, equipment, techniques, philosophy or management related to engineering, geology or geophysics."

James K. Gray, O.C.

Jim Gray is an impressive leader in the oil and gas industry. With over 45 years in the Canadian energy industry, he has furthered the cause of oil and gas exploration. In 1973, Mr. Gray co-founded Canadian Hunter Exploration Ltd., a company that became one of Canada's largest natural gas companies with an employee friendly culture. Through the dedication and persistence of Jim Gray and his partner, Canadian Hunter maintained a drilling presence in western Canada in the early 1970's when other outfits were leaving the province. Persistence paid off, culminating in a massive natural-gas discovery along the BC-Alberta border known as the Elmworth field. His continuing successes with Hunter led to Mr. Gray being appointed Chairman of the 16th World Petroleum Congress, which was held in Calgary in June 2000.

His focus on social awareness plays a key role in achieving greater awareness of conservation and environmental sustainability. In keeping with Mr. Gray's emphasis on these social and environmental issues, the Energy Council of Canada presented him with the 2001 Canadian Energy Person of the Year Award.

Mr. Gray also has an impressive list of awards, including an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Calgary in 1991, a Citation for Citizenship by the Government of Canada in 1992, the Fellowship of Honour by the YMCA and an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1995.

He is a member of the Board of Directors of Canadian National Railways, Brascan Corporation, Emers (formerly known as Nova Scotia Power), the Hudson Bay Company, Malibu Engineering & Software Ltd. and Twin Mining Corporation. He is also a member of the Advisory Board of Lazard Canada, a subsidiary of Lazard Brothers & Co. Ltd.

Mr. Gray has provided leadership to a wide range of community efforts such as the Canada West Foundation, the Calgary Academy, the Science Alberta Foundation, Calgary YMCA and the Duke of Edinburgh's Award Charter for Business, among others.

He received his early education in Kirkland Lake, Ontario and secondary and post-secondary education at Ridley College in St. Catharines, Ontario and at the University of British Columbia (Geology, 1957).

Previous Recipients:

2001 Award not Presented
2000 The Honourable Stan Woloshyn, MLA, Robert E. McTague
1999 R.E. Isley
1998 J.E. Newall
1997 D.P. O'Brien
1996 Award not Presented
1995 R.F. Haskayne, FCA
1994 A.J. Cressey
1993 A.R. Smith, DFC, OC
1992 Award not Presented
1991 G.B. Miller
1990 Award not Presented
1989 N.M, Fleming, FRAIC
1988 Award not Presented
1987 H.L. Planche
1986 M.J. Antonio, Bed, BA
1985 P.D. Sprung, J.P. Meekson, P.hD
1984 G.T. Page
1983 Award not Presented
1982 L.O. Rowland, R.D. Southern
1981 The Honourable E.C. Manning, Justice S.S. Purvis
1980 D.F. Burrows
1979 J.W. Dodds, F.C. Mannix, V. Millard, BA
1978 A.A. Voice
1977 J. Stevenson, FRAIC, G.E. Taylor
1976 W.B. Nodwell
1975 G.G. Horspool
1974 E.T. Connolly, A. Heslop