"Awarded to members of APEGGA who are recognized by their peers for their integrity and expertise and for their outstanding accomplishments in fields related to engineering, geology or geophysics".

Dr. G.A. Karim, P.Eng.

Dr. Karim's research and innovations have resulted in great advancements in combustion and energy utilization, resulting in the clean and efficient use of fuels in internal combustion engines. For over forty years, he has done extensive study in the mixing of fuels to enhance effectiveness and minimize emissions. With meticulous application of scientific principles, he has done pioneering work on emissions and knock reduction. He has also made significant contributions to combustion science and technology, particularly in relation to the reduction of fire and explosion hazards. His research has been in conjunction with both government and industry agencies and has helped enable Alberta companies to compete internationally.

Dr. Karim has taught for over 30 years, as a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, at the University of Calgary. He has developed courses at the undergraduate and graduate levels involving thermodynamics, energy conservation, combustion and fuels. He has supervised numerous graduate students; more than 30 of whom have received doctorate degrees. Many of these graduates have remained in Canada and have transferred significant amounts of advanced technology to the oil and gas sector. He has also acted as an advisor to many Canadian and international universities.

Demonstrating dedication to his profession, he has authored more than 500 technical papers and has served as a consultant with organizations such as Chevron Canada, Nova Corporation, Imperial Oil, and Bethlehem Steel.

He is active in a number of engineering societies, including the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), the Combustion Institute, American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the World Hydrogen Association. He has also served on APEGGA's Professional Examination Requirements Committee.

Dr. Karim was one of the few Canadians ever to be elected to the rank of Fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), and he has also received the SAE's outstanding Faculty Advisor award for his work with undergraduates and student chapters. He was also the only Canadian invited by the U.S. government to serve on a congressional committee on alternative fuels.

In 1956, he received his bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Durham. He then obtained master and doctorate degrees at Imperial College, London, England, in 1960. Relatively early in his career, in recognition ofhis outstanding research, Dr. Karim was awarded a Doctor of Science from the Imperial College of Science and Technology for his contributions to combustion engineering in 1972. More recently, he was chosen to be the Millennium Honda Lecturer of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Dr. Karim is an exemplary individual, personally and scientifically, whose enthusiasm for and dedication to science has continued unabated and has been shared with many of the best students in Canada. In doing so, he has made an invaluable contribution to the intellectual richness of this province.

Frank Spragins, a past president of APEGGA (1975-76). He was a driving force behind the Syncrude heavy oil sands project which is recognized as the largest industrial project ever to be undertaken in Canada. His personal qualities of vigour, imagination, courage, and endurance, as well as his negotiating skills, were critical to its success.


2001 S.M. Farouq Ali, P.Eng., PhD
2000 G. Lachapelle, P.Eng., PhD
1999 L.A. Behie, P.Eng., PhD
1998 P. R. Bishnoi, P.Eng., PhD
1997 J. K. Gibson, P.Eng.
1996 W. G. Ayrton, P.Geol., PhD
1995 E. W. Brooker, P.Eng., PhD
1994 M. A. Ward, P.Eng., PhD
1993 A. W. Hyndman, P.Eng.
1992 I. Adamache, P.Eng., PhD
1991 M. A. Clegg, P.Eng., PhD, R. K. Kerr, P.Eng., PhD
1990 F. G. Bercha, P.Eng., PhD, N. A. Cleland, P.Eng.
1989 H. R. Kivisvild, P.Eng.
1988 R. S. Bullen, P.Eng., R. A. Meneley, P.Eng.
1987 G. G. L. Henderson, P.Geol., PhD, F. W. Hewes, P.Eng.
1986 M. C. Harris, P.Eng.
1985 D. K. Seaman, P.Eng.
1984 C. R. Evans, P.Eng., PhD
1983 S. R. Blair, P.Eng., R. G. McCrossan, P.Geol., PhD
1982 A. D. Baillie, P.Eng., PhD, D. R. Stanley, P.Eng., J. I. Strong, P.Eng.
1981 B. A. Ellis, P.Eng., R. Stollery, P.Eng.
1980 T. Lamb, P.Eng., C. R. Neill, P.Eng.