For Immediate Release
August 18, 2000


`Fourteen teachers from around the province have been recognized for their exemplary work inside the classroom, and are the recipients of the 2000 Teacher Awards, sponsored by The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA).

Since 1991, the APEGGA Teacher Awards program has rewarded elementary, junior and senior high science and math teachers for the excellence they demonstrate in shaping the intellectual and creative development of students, and for their outstanding efforts to "Make School Cool."

Teacher Award recipients receive a cash prize of $1,000 to be used at their discretion to promote science and math education in their school. Cheques are presented during public ceremonies to celebrate their success and at recognition events around the province.

Nearly 800 letters of support from students, parents, principals, school administrators and other teachers were received by the Association praising the 138 dedicated, determined and inspirational teachers who were nominated. Volunteer committees comprised of APEGGA's professional members from each of its nine branches around the province reviewed the nominations and selected the 14 winners.

APEGGA and its 33,000 members are committed to promoting the role science and technology plays in the lives of Albertans, particularly the contributions of engineers and geoscientists. Established in 1920, APEGGA is responsible for regulating the practice of engineering, geology and geophysics in the province of Alberta, and this year proudly celebrates 80 years of service to Albertans.


Note: A complete list of 2000 APEGGA Teacher Award recipients is attached.

For more information contact:

Bronwen Stembiski
Public Affairs Officer
Phone (780) 426-3990 or 1-800-661-7020
Fax (780) 425-1722

Carmen Killick
Public Affairs Officer
Phone (403) 262-7714
Fax (403) 269-2787

2000 APEGGA Teacher Awards Recipients

Gwen Bodie teaches at Tipaskan School (Edmonton)

Shelley Facchinutti teaches at Graminia School (Spruce Grove)

Tamara Keirle teaches at Winfield Elementary School (Winfield)

Herb Belter teaches at Greely Road School (Fort McMurray)

David Anger teaches at Elizabeth School, (Cold Lake)

Dave Sherbinin teaches at Glenmary School (Peace River)

Kelly Cogan teaches at Good Shepherd School (Peace River)

Brett Huculak teaches at Viking School (Viking)

Manuela Casagrande teaches at Roche Miette School (Hinton)

Scott Jantzen teaches at Highwood School (High River)

Donna Simon teaches at Erin Woods Elementary School (Calgary)

Richard Baron teaches at Will Sinclair High School (Rocky Mountain House)

Jeanette Wegner teaches at Reed Ranch School (Olds)

Kelly Wilkinson teaches at St. Mary's Junior High School (Medicine Hat)