For Immediate Release
January 7, 1999

EDMONTON, Alberta -- The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) announced the recipients of its awards and scholarships programs during its annual Excellence in Education events in Edmonton and Calgary.

The Association invests approximately $75,000 annually to acknowledge academic excellence of students studying engineering and the geosciences, and to encourage teachers throughout the province who demonstrate exceptional abilities in teaching science and math.

"There’s been a re-engineering of the educational system in Alberta," said APEGGA 2nd vice president Connie Parenteau, P.Eng. "Increasingly, it is organizations like APEGGA that are being asked to help fill the gap left by government."

Ms. Parenteau also said companies and professional organizations have a role to play in supporting teachers and schools – from direct financial assistance to donating materials and equipment like computers - to help nurture the natural scientific curiosity in students.

APEGGA and its 30,000 members are committed to advancing the study of science and math at all educational levels. The Association provides the following support to educators and students in Alberta:

  • providing awards and scholarships
  • assisting with the development of math and science curricula
  • offering in-class science demonstrations and teacher workshops
  • volunteering judges for regional and local science fairs
  • giving advice on careers in engineering, geology and geophysics
  • sponsoring activities during National Science Technology Week, National Engineering Week, and competitions like the Edmonton Science Olympics and the Provincial Odyssey of the Mind Competition

APEGGA has taken a leadership role in promoting the role science and technology play in the lives of Albertans, particularly the contributions of engineers and geoscientists. Established in 1920, the Association serves society by regulating, enhancing and providing leadership in the practice of the professions in Alberta.

- 30 -

Note to News Directors/Assignment Editors: A list of awards and scholarships recipients is attached.

For more information, contact:

Sherrell Steele
Manager, Public Relations
APEGGA - Edmonton
Phone: (780) 426-3990 or 1-800-661-7020
Fax: (780) 426-1877




$2000 each towards first year engineering, geology or geophysics studies.

Attending the University of Alberta:

  • Enrique Heredia, John Paul II High School (Fort Saskatchewan)
  • Peter Hrudey, Strathcona Composite High School (Edmonton)
  • Aaron Hryciw, Louis St. Laurent High School (Edmonton)
  • Brendan Kusiek, Ponoka Composite High School (Ponoka)
  • Scott Mar, Lord Beaverbrook High School (Calgary)
  • Trena Stretch, Innisfail Jr. Sr. High School (Innisfail)
  • Kristel Unterschultz, Memorial Composite High School (Stony Plain)

Attending The University of Calgary:

  • Tyler Dubetz, George McDougall High School (Airdrie)
  • Raimund Honsek, Holy Trinity Academy (Okotoks)
  • Darren McKeague, Springbank Community High School (Calgary)
  • Melina Repka, Sir Winston Churchill High School (Calgary)
  • Sreemoyi Sanyal, Western Canada High School ( Calgary)


$2000 each to students transferring from regional colleges or technical institutes to
university engineering programs.

Attending the University of Alberta:

  • APEGGA Medicine Hat College Transfer Scholarship
    Gary Robert Oikawa (Redcliff)
  • APEGGA Red Deer College Transfer Scholarship
    Dwight Schmidt (Red Deer)


$2000 each for undergraduate excellence in engineering or geoscience studies.

Attending the University of Alberta:

  • APEGGA John A. Allan Undergraduate Geology Scholarship
    Roy Coulthard (Edmonton)
  • APEGGA Undergraduate Geophysics Scholarship
    Neil Ethier (Edmonton)
  • APEGGA H.R. Webb Undergraduate Engineering Scholarship
    Richard Mao (Edmonton)

Attending The University of Calgary:

  • APEGGA Undergraduate Geology Scholarship
    Maria Gagliardi (Calgary)
  • APEGGA Roy O. Lindseth Undergraduate Geophysics Scholarship
    David Albert Minken (Calgary)
  • APEGGA Alexander Clayton Milroy Undergraduate Engineering Scholarship
    Tyson Marchuk (Calgary)


Presented to graduating students obtaining the highest average in geology, geophysics and each engineering program accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board.

Graduated from the University of Alberta:

  • Allison Aherne (St. Albert) – petroleum engineering
  • Curt Bererton (Edmonton) – computer engineering
  • Jarrod Beztilny (Edmonton) – chemical engineering
  • Katherine Brewer (Edmonton) – mining engineering
  • Damien Clapa (Edmonton) – mechanical engineering
  • Lance Doherty (Edmonton) – engineering physics
  • Preston Holloway (Castor) – metallurgical engineering
  • Brent Miller (Ardrossan) – geophysics
  • Jeremy Sit (Edmonton) – electrical engineering
  • Rene Villiger (Hythe) – civil engineering
  • Michael Wojcik (Edmonton) – geology

Graduated from The University of Calgary:

  • Jeffrey Thomas Bulger (Calgary) – mechanical engineering
  • Neil David Cooper (Calgary) – manufacturing engineering
  • Richard Kruger (Calgary) – geophysics
  • Carmen Leeanne Neufeld (Calgary) – geology
  • Robert Radovanovic (Calgary) – geomatics engineering
  • Robert Guy Randall (Calgary) – electrical engineering
  • Jay Richert (Calgary) – chemical engineering


$2000 each for graduate studies in engineering or geosciences.

Attending the University of Alberta:

  • Daniel Healy, E.I.T. (Edmonton), civil and environmental engineering specializing in water resources

Attending The University of Calgary:

  • Janice Miller, P.Eng. (Calgary), mechanical engineering specializing in biomechanics

APEGGA Teacher Awards
Students, peers and principals nominate Science and math teachers. A $500 cash award, used for classroom materials and/or field trips, is presented to each school in the teacher’s name.

  • Shonna Barth teaches grade 6 science at St. Thomas Aquinas school in Medicine Hat.
  • John Cabaj teaches grade 5 science at H. E. Bourgoin School in Bonnyville.
  • Caroline Dieken teaches grade 9 math at St. Jerome's School in Vermilion.
  • Cathy Dudgeon teaches grade 5 math and science at Holy Spirit Academy in High River.
  • Craig Frehlich teaches grade 7 and 8 science at Holy Spirit Academy in High River.
  • Bill Heir teaches grade 7 math and science at Crescent Valley School in Hinton.
  • Darrin Park teaches grade 9 science at Mary Butterworth School in Edmonton.
  • Shawn Russell teaches grade 6 to 8 science at G.H. Dawe Community School in Red Deer.
  • Florence Sliney teaches kindergarten to grade 4 science at Mountain Gate Community School in Canmore.
  • Marc Soetaert teaches grade 9 math and science at Crystal Park School in Grande Prairie.
  • Judy Taerum taught grade 2/3 math and science at Westbrook Elementary School in Edmonton. Mrs. Taerum recently moved to Kansas City.
  • Joanne Thaxter teaches grade 6 math at Lakeview Elementary School in Lethbridge.
  • Robin Was teaches grade 10 to 12 science at Calmar School in Calmar.
  • Sylvia Zalik teaches grade 4 science and math at St. Anne School in Fort McMurray.


Each scholarship provides $2000 per year for two years. It enables individuals who hold bachelor’s degrees in science or education to return to university to obtain a second degree, or helps those students obtaining combined degrees in education and science. Each scholarship is named for annual APEGGA Teacher Award recipients.

Attending the University of Alberta:

  • APEGGA Barth/Cabaj/Dieken Education Scholarship
    Chantelle Cadieux

Attending The University of Lethbridge:

  • APEGGA Dudgeon/Frehlich/Heir Education Scholarship
    Diana Dziadek
  • APEGGA Park/Russell/Sliney/Soetaert Education Scholarship
    Holly Kobi
  • APEGGA Taerum/Thaxter/Zalik Education Scholarship
    Vincent Peters