June 3, 1999


Fourteen Alberta science and math teachers have captured the imagination and admiration of their students, and are recipients of The Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) 1999 Teacher Awards.

The APEGGA Teacher Awards program rewards elementary, junior high and senior high school teachers who "Make School Cool" for students. Through inspiration or perspiration, they work hard to encourage young minds to excel in difficult subjects. For their efforts these mentors are acknowledged by APEGGA at a public ceremony and receive $500 each towards curriculum materials or field trips.

This year, the Association received more than 1200 letters of support from students, parents, principals and school superintendents, as well as other teachers. There were 156 teachers nominated.

APEGGA and its 30,000 members are committed to advancing the study of science and math at all educational levels and invests approximately $75,000 annually in various awards and scholarship programs. The Association also sponsors Science Olympics events in Edmonton, Medicine Hat, Brooks and Fort McMurray, provides input into the development of science and math curricula; assists teachers in the classroom with science demonstrations and career discussions; and participates in science fairs and other competitions.

Established in 1920, APEGGA serves society by regulating, enhancing and providing leadership in the practice of engineering, geology and geophysics in Alberta.


Note to Editors/News Directors: Because of the surprise nature of this event, media representatives are asked not to contact the recipient for comment until after the presentation has taken place. A complete list of 1999 APEGGA Teacher Award recipients is attached.

For more information, contact:

Sherrell Steele
Manager, Public Relations
APEGGA Edmonton
Ph.: (780) 426-3990 or 1-800-262-7714 toll free
Fax: (780) 426-1877


This year's recipients of the 1999 APEGGA Teacher Awards are:

  • John Descoteau teaches at Duchess School. (Duchess)
  • Carolyn Dyck teaches at Olds Koinonia Christian School. (Olds)
  • Linda Hut teaches at Westglen School. (Edmonton)
  • Jodie Mackie teaches at Meyokumin Elementary School. (Edmonton)
  • Donna McCullough teaches at Greely Road School. (Fort McMurray)
  • Holly Morawski teaches at Niton Central School. (Niton Junction)
  • Bob Palinka teaches at St. Paul Regional School. (St. Paul)
  • Pat Quinn teaches at St. Cyril School. (Calgary)
  • Roxie Rutt teaches at Penson School. (Grovedale)
  • Craig Schiissler teaches at Rundle College Junior High School. (Calgary)
  • Neil Williams teaches at Kitscoty Jr./Sr. High School. (Kitscoty)
  • Brian Wilson teaches at Allan Watson School. (Lethbridge)
  • Rocky Wilson teaches at Milo Community School. (Milo)
  • Earl Wolff teaches at New Horizons School. (Sherwood Park)