September , 1999

APEGGA Rewards Teachers' Efforts

Fourteen Alberta science and math teachers have captured the imagination and admiration of their students, and are recipients of APEGGA 1999 Teacher Awards.

The APEGGA Teacher Awards program
rewards elementary, junior high and senior high school teachers who "Make School Cool" for students. Through inspiration or perspiration, they work hard to encourage young minds to excel in difficult subjects. For their efforts, these mentors are acknowledged by APEGGA at a public ceremony and receive $500 each towards curriculum materials or field trips.

This year, the Association received more than 1,200 letters of support from students, parents, principals and school superintendents, as well as other teachers. There were 156 teachers nominated.

This year's recipients of the 1999 APEGGA Teacher Awards are:

  • John Descoteau - Duchess School (Duchess)
  • Carolyn Dyck - Olds Koinonia Christian School (Olds)
  • Linda Hut - Westglen School (Edmonton)
  • Jodie Mackie - Meyokumin Elementary School (Edmonton)
  • Donna McCullough - Greely Road School (Fort McMurray)
  • Holly Morawski - Niton Central School (Niton Junction)
  • Bob Palinka - St. Paul Regional School (St. Paul)
  • Pat Quinn - St. Cyril School (Calgary)
  • Roxie Rutt - Penson School (Grovedale)
  • Craig Schiissler - Rundle College Junior High School (Calgary)
  • Neil Williams - Kitscoty Jr./Sr. High School (Kitscoty)
  • Brian Wilson - Allan Watson School (Lethbridge)
  • Rocky Wilson - Milo Community School (Milo)
  • Earl Wolff - New Horizons School (Sherwood Park)
Home | Past PEGGs | Contact | Ad Rates