Markin Puts $18 Million Towards Public Health Institute


Calgary's Alan Markin, P.Eng., recently donated $18 million to the University of Calgary to help develop new approaches to health. The donation, one of the largest in the U of C's history, will be used to launch the new Institute for Public Health. The institute will focus on population health and its influences.

“To make a lasting legacy, you invest in changing thinking,” said Mr. Markin, chairman of Canadian Natural Resources Ltd.

Permit Holders Receive Steward of Excellence Awards

APEGGA permit holders Devon Canada Corp., BP Canada Energy Company, Encana Corp. and Dynamic Oil & Gas Inc. were award winners at the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers' third annual Steward of Excellence luncheon, held in early September in Calgary.

The association represents 150 companies that explore for, develop and produce natural gas, natural gas liquids, crude oil, oil sands and elemental sulphur throughout Canada.

New Sponsor

EnCana Corporation has committed to sponsor the annual Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation $100,000 Principal Award for 10 years.

Gwyn Morgan, P.Eng., EnCana president and CEO, said: “Innovation is one of the cornerstones of continued success for North America's oil and natural gas industries. With a view to enhancing our communications program about the value of innovation within EnCana and our industry, we have decided to enter a long-term relationship with the Manning Innovation Awards that will facilitate its public positioning on innovation.”

Magazine Names Largest Oilwell Drilling Contractors

Several APEGGA permit holders were recently named as the largest oilwell drilling contractors in Alberta. Ensign Resource Service Group Inc. tops the list, followed by Precision Drilling, Nabors Drilling (Nabors Canada LP), Akita Drilling Ltd., Beaver Drilling Ltd. and Kinnell Drilling Ltd. The list was compiled by the newspaper Business Edge, and is ranked by the number of drilling rigs.

Canadian Petroleum Hall of Fame

Harley Hotchkiss, P.Geol., Robert A. Meneley, P.Eng., P.Geol., and Gerry DeSorcy, P.Eng., were recognized for their contributions to the economic engine of the country by being inducted into the Canadian Petroleum Hall of Fame, during an event in September in Edmonton. We mentioned Gerry DeSorcy's induction in our October Newsmakers — but missed the other two members.

Oilweek Announces Supplier And Producer of the Year

Sproule Associates, no stranger to the oil and gas industry, is the Oilweek Magazine Supplier of the Year for 2004, the magazine announced in its November edition. Sproule has been opening and exploring frontiers for five decades.

Clay Riddell, P.Geol., founder of Paramount Resources, was named producer of the year. In the early 1970s, Mr. Riddell branched out on his own and began drilling in northeast Alberta. After drilling nine dry holes, he tried a different drilling technique the following drilling season, which led to the discovery the Portage gas field — 130 billion cubic feet and still counting.

West African Villagers Receive Solar-Powered Lighting

Canadian Hydro Developers Inc. has launched a $130,000 fundraising effort to provide solar-powered lighting units to about 10,000 people living near the Wechiau Community Hippo Sanctury in Ghana. Canadian Hydro CEO John Keating says the company's fundraising will help send 550 solar-powered lighting units to assist West African villagers. Half the people at Wechiau are children who need safe lighting to encourage literacy. Canadian Hydro's partners on the project include the Calgary Zoo, the Calgary-based Light Up the World Foundation and the Nature Conservation Research Centre in Accra, Ghana.

APEGGA Members Take On New Responsibilities

William Roach, P.Eng., president of UTS Energy Corp., can now add chief executive officer to his title.

APF Energy Trust's Dan Allan, P.Geol., formerly vice-president of coalbed methane, has been appointed VP of exploration.

Kevan Newman, P.Eng. has been promoted to manager of operations from senior engineer, Howard Anderson, P.Eng., to manager of the central business unit, Gordon MacMahon, P.Geol., to manager of the western business unit, and Jeff Shaw, P.Eng. to manager of the southern business unit.

Floyd Bjorgan, P.Eng., returns to head office as VP of human resources for Matrikon Inc.

Al Buchignani, P.Eng., has taken over as interim president and CEO for Enmax Corporation.

Peter Sametz, P.Eng., is now executive vice-president and chief operating officer for Connacher Oil and Gas Ltd.