April 2006 ISSUE


Geologist Makes Top Cut
At Engineering Institute of Canada


Editorial Assistant

David Cruden, P.Geol., has been honoured with one of the Engineering Institute of Canada’s most senior awards, the Julian C. Smith Medal.

The Julian C. Smith Medal, awarded for achievement in the development of Canada, was presented at a banquet held in Ottawa at the beginning of March.

Maja Veljikovic, president of the Engineering Institute of Canada, presents David Cruden, P.Geol., with the Julian C. Smith Medal.

Three other APEGGA members were made fellows of the Engineering Institute of Canada at the banquet. They are, Dr. Robert Alexander Hanna, P.Eng., former APEGGA President John Anthony Howard, P.Eng., and Dr. William Svrcek, P.Eng. Mr. Cruden, a professor at the University of Alberta and a fellow of the EIC, is one of the country’s foremost authorities on landslides and terrain analysis. He counsels civil engineers on the role of geology in planning, designing and constructing major projects throughout Canada. He is also an active adviser to consulting engineering companies and to government agencies on problems related to engineering geology and rock mechanics.

Business Edge Rates Builders
Business Edge news magazine has named the top 20 builders in Canada, ranked in order of revenue. Four APEGGA permit holders have made the list.

SNC Lavalin Group Inc. is in the number one spot, followed by PCL Construction Group Inc. in second. Lockerbie and Hole Inc. holds ninth and Stuart Olson Construction 15th.

KPMG and Ipsos Reid Name Respected Companies

Several permit holders have been named in the 11th annual survey of Canada’s Most Respected Corporations, conducted by Ipsos Reid and sponsored by KPMG.

Categories covered 25 most respected Canadian corporations as ranked by Canadian CEOs, top-of-mind most respected, best long-term investment value, human resources management, financial performance, corporate social responsibility, high quality service/product, and corporate governance.

Receiving the most nominations of permit holders was EnCana Corporation, which received a nod in all but one category. Enbridge Inc., TELUS, Imperial Oil Limited and Petro-Canada all received two mentions of the eight. Shell Canada Limited, Suncor Energy Inc. and TransCanada Pipelines Limited all received one mention.

The annual survey, held in November, involves interviews with 250 of Canada’s leading CEOs.

Alberta Companies Make Canada’s 50 Best List

Three APEGGA permit holders have been named to a list of Canada’s 50 Best-Managed Companies. They are Blue Falls Manufacturing Limited, CCI Thermal Technologies Inc. and Conestoga-Rovers & Associates.

The awards program is sponsored by Queen’s School of Business and several major companies. It recognizes companies operating at the highest levels of business performance. They must symbolize corporate success, be focused on their core vision, create stakeholder value and excel in the global economy.

Also awarded, for their ongoing stellar performance, were Platinum Club members. A sustained standard of excellence and leadership in all areas of business practices earns companies a spot in this club, in addition to at least six consecutive annual qualifications.

APEGGA permit holders Komex Environmental Ltd., PCL Construction Group of Companies and SMART Technologies Inc. were among the 31 elite companies named to the club this year.

Alberta Venture Names Business Person of the Year

Charlie Fischer, P.Eng., chief executive of Nexen Inc., has been named Alberta Venture magazine’s 2005 Business Person of the Year.

Eight years ago, the chief operating officer of what was then Canadian Occidental Petroleum pointed out the potential for big things, when another company questioned the need for some unused and little known stakes in unexploited heavy-oil assets in Northern Alberta. Turns out the stakes paid off, providing the seed assets for a corporate bitumen inventory that ultimately led to Nexen.

Alberta’s Business Person of the Year Award showcases those who the magazine believes to be at the top of the province’s business achievements and excellence. Now in its eighth year, the award is designed to identify and recognize individuals who embrace principled leadership, strategic thinking, the unceasing pursuit of excellence and balanced workplace values.

Growing by Leap and Bounds

Alberta’s 25 fastest growing companies have received some recognition for their efforts.

Alberta Venture magazine released its findings for the fastest growth in both the under $20 million and over $20 million in revenue categories. Several APEGGA permit holders made the cut in each category.

Among the under $20 million was Cyntech Corporation in 12th, Geocan Energy Inc., in 14th and Mentor Engineering Inc. in 24th. Included in the list of over $20 million was Divestco Inc. in second, Gemini Corporation in seventh, CSI Wireless in eighth, Trican Well Services Ltd. in 10th, Real Resources Inc. in 22nd and finally Dynetek Industries Inc. in 24th.

Who’s Moved Where

Gregory Moore, P.Eng., has moved into the offices of chief executive officer at Shiningbank Energy Income Fund. Mr. Moore, who has been with Shiningbank since 1996, brings over 30 years of experience with senior and junior companies in Canada and Australia. He retains his position of vice-president operations.

Bruce Thornhill, P.Geol., moves to the position of manager of development geology also at Shiningbank Energy Income Fund. Mr. Thornhill joined Shiningbank in 2004 and will be applying his 25 years of experience in development and exploration in his new endeavour.

Ihor Wasylkiw, P.Eng., has been appointed vice-president and chief information officer at Alhambra Resources Ltd. Mr. Wasylkiw will be a key member if the senior management team, primarily responsible at keeping the investment community and shareholders informed of the corporation’s activities through news releases, corporate materials, corporate profiles and shareholder communication materials.

Graeme Phipps, P.Geoph., has been appointed to the board of directors of Norwood Resources Ltd. Mr. Phipps will be drawing on 30-plus years of experience in oil and gas exploration and development to provide a perspective on a Norwood venture in Nicaragua.

Brian Lynam, P.Eng., has joined the executive team at PrimeWest Energy. The newly created position of vice-president, operations, will see Mr. Lynam hold responsibilities such as field operations, drilling and facilities.

Robert Grasby, P.Eng., was appointed as president and CEO of Interalia Inc. Bringing more than 20 years of telecom experience with him, Mr. Grasby has a mandate that includes spearheading the continued growth of global operations, and developing new products and services to meet client demands.

Richard Thibault, P.Eng., has joined the board of directors at Argentex Mining Corporation in Argentina. Mr. Thibault will be using his extensive knowledge of Argentine engineering practices and mining contracts in Latin America to guide Argentex.

Garth Kirkham, P.Geoph., has accepted the position of director with Romios Gold Resources Inc. Mr. Kirkham is the principal of Kirkham Geosystems Ltd., which provides geoscience software consulting services to the mining and environmental industries.

John A. (Tony) Howard, P.Eng., has been appointed as a public member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta Discipline and Appeals Tribunal Roster.