Centennial Leadership Award

summit award® recipients



Mr. Gwyn Morgan, P.Eng.


Mr. Gwyn Morgan, P.Eng., devoted three decades to the building of the largest company ever to be headquartered in Western Canada. He led the creation of EnCana Corporation from the merger of Alberta Energy Company (AEC) and PanCanadian Energy in early 2002.  He served as President and Chief Executive Officer until stepping down at the end of 2005 and now serves as Executive Vice-Chair. Before creating EnCana, Mr. Morgan was President and CEO of AEC, which he joined at the time of its startup in 1975.

EnCana Corporation is Canada’s largest energy company and North America’s largest producer of natural gas. EnCana’s stock market value, of approximately $40 billion, ranks among the top five Canadian headquartered corporations.

Mr. Morgan was voted Canada’s most respected CEO for 2005 in an end-of-year survey of 250 chief executive officers sponsored by The Globe and Mail and KPMG.  He was also named Canada’s Outstanding CEO of the Year of 2005 by the Financial Post Business magazine and CTV.

He has a B.Sc. (Mechanical Engineering) from the University of Alberta and has completed the Executive Business Program at Cornell University.

Honours, Awards and Distinctions

  • Canadian Business Leader Award, University of Alberta (2003)

  • Honorary Degrees, University of Lethbridge (2003) and SAIT Polytechnic (2003)

  • Ivey Business Leader Award, University of Western Ontario (2002)

  • Inductee, Alberta Business Hall of Fame (2002)

  • Strategic Leadership Forum President's Award (1999)

  • Honorary Colonel (retired), 410 Tactical Fighter Squadron, Canadian Air Force

Professional Affiliations and Activities

  • Member, APEGGA

  • Fellow, Canadian Academy of Engineering

  • Director, Alcan Inc.

  • Director, HSBC Bank Canada

  • Director, SNC-Lavalin Group Inc.

  • Member, Accenture International Energy Advisory Board

  • Member, Leadership Advisory Board, Institute for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy, University of Calgary

  • Member, Board of Trustees, The Fraser Institute

  • Director and Vice-chair, Canadian Council of Chief Executives