Ralph B. Young, P.Eng.

summit award® recipients

the community service award


Mr. James Douglas (J.D.) Hole, P.Eng.


Mr. James Douglas (J.D.) Hole, P.Eng., has led a distinguished career with Lockerbie & Hole Inc. Born and raised in Montreal, Mr. Hole graduated with a Bachelor of Engineering Science from the University of Western Ontario in 1967. In 1969, he joined the Lockerbie & Hole group of companies as a Project Engineer in Montreal and he moved to Edmonton the following year.  During his 36-year career, Mr. Hole worked in a variety of positions and helped lead the company into new territories and markets including the industrial and municipal sectors.

Mr. Hole was President and CEO of Lockerbie & Hole from 1993 to 2005 and was instrumental in the company’s growth. Today, Lockerbie & Hole has offices across Canada and annual revenues of approximately $500 million. In early 2005, Mr. Hole retired from daily duties but remains active as the Chair of the Lockerbie & Hole Board of Directors. 

Over the years, Mr. Hole has taken on many initiatives, dedicating his time and skills towards making life better for others in our community. This is a tradition that maintains the Hole family’s outstanding reputation as philanthropists. One foundation that Mr. Hole has strongly advocated for, and dedicated his energies to, is the Alberta Shock Trauma Air Rescue Society (STARS). Currently serving on their Board and the Past Chair for several years, Mr. Hole has helped bring this life-saving service to the community and ensured that it remains viable and active for the benefit of all citizens across the province. In 2005, 1,157 missions took place, caring for critically ill and injured patients across Alberta. Mr. Hole’s commitment contributes to STARS’ success. 

In September 2005, Lockerbie & Hole announced the J.D. Hole Community Services Award program. This program honours employees who exemplify Mr. Hole’s dedication and commitment to the community and ensures that his tradition of selfless giving is promoted and encouraged within the organization.  

Honours, Awards and Distinctions

  • Alberta Centennial Medal (2005)

  • Honorary Board Member, Lifetime Membership, Partners for the Saskatchewan River Basin (2005)

  • Golden Jubilee Medal (2004)

Professional Affiliations and Activities

  • Board Member, APEGGA Education Foundation (2000-2005)

  • Member, APEGGA (1970-present)

Community Service

  • Member, Business Advisory Council, MacEwan College (2004-present)

  • Member, Board of Governors, University of Alberta (2003-present)

  • Board Member, Current Chair, TELUS World of Science – Edmonton (2003-present)

  • Executive Board Member, Canadian Industry Program for Energy Conservation (2003-present)

  • Chair, World Cup Triathlon (2002-present)

  • Board Member, Past Chair, Edmonton Economic Development Corporation (2001-present)

  • Strategy Council, Mazankowski Alberta Heart Institute (2001-present)

  • Chair, World Triathlon Championship, Edmonton (2001)

  • Board Member, Canadian Chamber of Commerce (2000-present)

  • Member, Board of Governors, Brentwood College, Vancouver Island (1999-present)

  • Board Member, Partners of the Saskatchewan River Basin (1997-2004)

  • Board Member, Past Chair, STARS (1992-present)