June, 2000

Home | Past PEGGs | Ad Rates | Back to June Index | Contact
Back to

Micheline Bouchard Presented Top Award From CCPE


The Canadian Engineers' Awards

The Canadian Council of Professional Engineers (CCPE) presents the Canadian Engineers' Awards annually to recognize outstanding Canadian engineers, teams of engineers and engineering projects. First presented in 1972, they are now widely recognized to be Canada's pre-eminent engineering awards. Past recipients of the awards include Canadian astronaut Julie Payette, ing. (1994 Young Engineer Achievement Award), Robert Gillespie, P.Eng., Chairman and CEO of General Electric Canada (1999 Gold Medal Award) and Carl Breau, ing., founder and owner of Mecker Technologies Inc. (1999 Young Engineer Achievement Award).

Nominations for the Canadian Engineers' Awards are considered in six categories. This year, the Council will present awards to Canadian engineers in four of those categories:

Gold Medal Award for exceptional achievement and distinction in a field of engineering;

Young Engineer Achievement Award for outstanding contributions in a field of engineering by an engineer 35 years of age or younger;

Meritorious Service Award for Community Service for exemplary volunteer contribution to a community organization or humanitarian endeavour; and

Meritorious Service Award for Professional Service for outstanding contribution to a professional, consulting or technical engineering association or society in Canada.


To qualify for an award in these categories, nominees must meet several criteria:

  • be registered as professional engineers (P.Eng.) in a province or territory of Canada or ingénieurs (ing.) in Québec;

  • have completed major engineering achievements in Canada or on behalf of Canada, or made an outstanding contribution to their community, or made an outstanding contribution to the engineering profession; and

  • for the Young Engineering Achievement Award only, be 35 years of age or younger at the time of nomination.


Only nominations supported by one or more of Canada's 12 provincial and territorial regulatory engineering associations/ordre are considered by the CCPE Awards Committee.

Nominations are ranked by the CCPE Awards Committee based on the established terms of reference and criteria for each award category, as well as the importance of the nominees' engineering achievements, professional and/or community service, and/or contribution to engineering education, and/or engineering significance.

Members of the 1999-2000 CCPE Awards Committee

Lorne Martin, P.Eng.
Chairman Member of the CCPE Board of Directors representing Atlantic Canada

René Morency, ing.
Member Member of the CCPE Board of Directors representing l'Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

Dr. Walter Bilanski, P.Eng.
Member Member of the CCPE Board of Directors representing
Professional Engineers Ontario

Bernadette Stewart, P.Eng.
Member Member of the CCPE Board of Directors representing Nunavut and the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of the Northwest Territories

Bryan Schreiner, P.Eng., P.Geo.
Member Member of the CCPE Board of Directors representing the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan

Dr. Michel Gauthier
Member Program Account Director VP, Technology and Industry Support Office, National Research Council Canada

Lorelei Scott, CAE
Member Manager, Member Services, CCPE Secretariat


Award winners will be honoured at the Canadian Engineers' Awards presentation ceremony in Montréal, Québec, on Saturday, May 27, 2000.

Home | Past PEGGs | Contact | Ad Rates | Back to June Index