September 2001

Home | Past PEGGs | Ad Rates | Back to September Index | Contact

Lakeland is Small But Bustling

Lakeland Branch Chair

Lakeland is the smallest APEGGA branch with about 80 members - but that hasn't stopped us from having a busy 2001, so far. The branch encompasses a region of Alberta northeast of Edmonton, including the towns of St. Paul, Elk Point and Bonnyville, and the city of Cold Lake.

In February, the branch held its Annual General Meeting at the Lakeland Inn in Cold Lake. We were pleased to have both the then APEGGA President Sue Evison, P.Eng., and the incoming and now current President Dale Miller, P.Eng. Also attending the dinner were some local dignitaries and members of the Lakeland Industry and Community Association. This provided a unique opportunity for APEGGA members to meet and discuss some issues with the public. The day also included a tour of the Imperial Oil Cold Lake Heavy Oil Operation.
The Lakeland Branch Outreach coordinators, Jamie Long, E.I.T., and Scott Fouracres, P.Eng., were quite busy in the spring organizing events at local schools. A joint APEGGA/ASET presentation was made at the Notre Dame High School Career Fair in Bonnyville. Members of the branch acted as judges for the St. Dominic's Elementary school science fair in Cold Lake.

For National Engineering week the branch provided a guest lecturer for a one hour class on structures and branch members judged the Provincial High School Challenge and made a presentation to the winning team at the school's end-of-year awards ceremony.

Congratulations go to Tim Urlacher, a science teacher at Assumption Junior and Senior High in Cold Lake who was the Lakeland recipient of the APEGGA Teacher Award.

The annual branch golf tournament was held at the Bonnyville Golf and Country Club. The event was a good chance for APEGGA members to build their networks and have some fun.
The summer has marked a time of transition for the Lakeland Branch as our chair of the past 18 months, Bill Chase, P.Eng., was transferred out of the Lakeland area. We wish Bill and his family all the best in the future.

New Lakeland Branch Executive
Chair: Andrew MacPherson, E.I.T.
Past Chair: Kevin Billay, P.Eng.
Treasurer: Ish Thaleshvar, P.Eng.
Secretary: Jamie Gingrich, E.I.T.
Outreach Coordinator: Jamie Long, E.I.T.
Outreach Coordinator: Scott Fouracres, P.Eng.
Member-at-Large: Andrew Wright, E.I.T.

Members should watch for details in the notices of upcoming events for the year. We are planning a guest speaker for later in the fall.




Home | Past PEGGs | Contact | Ad Rates | Back to September Index