May, 2000

John Lagadin, P.Eng., (left) receives the APEGGA Centennial Leadership Award, the Association's highest recognition, from 1999-2000 APEGGA President Darrel Danyluk, P.Eng., during the Summit Award Ceremonies.

Continues Tradition
of Excellence

sing the theme "Building Our Professions", APEGGA built upon the tradition of nine previous Summit Award Ceremonies, with the 2000 event attracting a record Edmonton audience of more than 900 for such a gala celebration.

The April 27 gathering, held as part of APEGGA’s three-day Annual General Conference, honoured eight individuals and one project for their contributions to the professions of engineering, geology and geophysics. The ceremonies included the first-time presentation of a new Summit Award, the APEGGA Excellence in Education Award, which went to Anil K. Mehrotra, P.Eng., PhD, of the University of Calgary.

Photo shows 1999-2000 APEGGA President Darrel Danyluk, P.Eng., (right) presenting Tony Howard, P.Eng., a former president of the Association, with the L.C. Charlesworth Professional Service Award.

The other recipients were: John Lagadin, P.Eng., who received the APEGGA Centennial Leadership Award, the association's highest recognition; Gérard Lachapelle, P.Eng., PhD, the Frank Spragins Technical Award; Tony Howard, P.Eng., the APEGGA L.C. Charlesworth Professional Service Award; Dave Irvine-Halliday, P.Eng., PhD, the APEGGA Community Service Award; Robert E. McTague and Hon. Stan Woloshyn, both Honorary Memberships; Darrel Danyluk, P.Eng., Honorary Life Membership; and the Wabasca Horizontal Well Network Drilling Project, the APEGGA Project Achievement Award, which was accepted by Dave Hassan, P.Eng.

In keeping with tradition, the Summit Awards® were dedicated to the memory of two former presidents of the Association this year, the late Carlton Jones, P.Eng., president in 1960-61, and the late Al Saunders, P.Eng., president in 1970-71. Both passed away in 1998. Dedications were delivered by former presidents Gerry Maier, P.Eng., and Noel Cleland, P.Eng., to an audience which included Mr. Saunder's widow and daughter, both named Connie. (Mr. Jones' widow, Marion, was unable to attend due to another commitment.)

The evening's featured entertainment was provided by comedienne Shirley Best (Zandra Bell) the self-described High Priestess of Polyester, whose routine included an amusing "analysis" of the early childhood characteristics of future engineers, geologists and geophysicists. The audience in the Shaw Conference Centre also was entertained by the Wajjo Drummers, and the Kekeli Dancers. These entertainers later joined forces for a seemingly incongruous but nevertheless effective mix of West African drumming, and Scottish bagpipe music and highland dancing.

Mr. Woloshyn, formerly the minister responsible for the Engineering,Geological and Geophysical Professions Act and now Alberta Minister of Community Development brought greetings from the Alberta government and the ministers now responsible for the EGGP Act, Hon. Clint Dunford. Mr. Woloshyn, in receiving honorary membership in APEGGA, was cited for his role in providing greater recognition to engineering technologists as part of the engineering team, including legislation changes paving the way for registering Registered Professional Technologists under the EGGP Act.

It fits! Darrel Danyluk, P.Eng., (left) received vest traditionally given to the departing APEGGA President as his wife, Bonnie, and his predecessor Dan Motyka, P.Eng., share the moment. The fact that the vest prepared last year for Mr. Motyka did not fit added an element of suspense to this year’s vesting ceremony.

The evening's events included the vesting ceremony in which the departing APEGGA president is presented with a colourful vest. The 1999 vesting ceremony caused amusement when the vest proved too small for then-departing president Dan Motyka, P.Eng. The problem was not repeated this year with the outgoing 1999-2000 President Darrel Danyluk, P.Eng. offering a thumbs-up after receiving his vest from his predecessor Mr. Motyka. Attending the Summit Awards® with tickets provided compliments of Meloche Monnex were high school students and teachers from the three winning teams at the 2000 Edmonton Science Olympics, held in March and sponsored by APEGGA.










Home | Past PEGGs | Contact | Ad Rates | Back to May Index