Terri-Jane Yuzda

Linda Van Gastel, P.Eng.,
Voted APEGGA President-Elect

APEGGA's first-ever president-elect will become the Association's second-ever female president when her term at the helm begins next year. Linda Van Gastel, P.Eng., of Calgary topped the annual election for vice-president, members heard at their 83rd Annual General Meeting in Calgary, April 26. That automatically makes her president-elect, and guarantees her the president's job in 2004-2005.

She will join Sue Evison, P.Eng., who was master of ceremonies at this year's Summit Awards, as the first women to lead the Association. Ms. Evison was president in 2000-2001.

Under a recent change to the Engineering, Geological and Geophysical Professions Act, there will no longer be elections for president each year. Instead, members from now on will elect a president-elect the year before, to ensure continuity at the top.

Mike Smyth, P.Eng., of Calgary went uncontested in the election for president, taking over the reins from Ron Tenove, P.Eng., of Edmonton. Past President Dale Miller, P.Eng., shifts off the APEGGA Executive Committee, but will retain contact with APEGGA Council as a director of the Canadian Council of Professional Engineers.

Ms. Van Gastel served on APEGGA Council from 1998 to 2001. She chaired two Council task forces - on relevance and work place issues - and is a member of the Council Task Force on Licensure. She also served on the Council Task Force on Regulation of Corporate Practice and various other committees, dating back to 1991.

She is currently EnCana's vice-president of applied reservoir development, in the company's offshore and international operations division.

Vice-president of the new council is Andy Gilliland, P.Eng., of Edmonton. His APEGGA activities date back to 1980. Mr. Gilliland was second vice-president in the last term and a 2001-2002 councillor. He's been a member of the nominating, investigative, discipline and other committees, and he's chaired the Honours and Awards Committee.

Mr. Gilliland, the winner of an ASTech award last year, works in Edmonton as the director of stakeholder relations for the National Research Council's National Institute for Nanotechnology.

In the mail-in balloting members also elected four new councillors - Dave Chalcroft, P.Eng., Kim Farwell, P.Eng., Darcie Greggs, P.Geol., and Barbara Howes, P.Eng. Continuing in office are Julie Aitken, P.Geoph., Paula Harding, P.Eng., Jack Hole, P.Eng., Mike Koziol, P.Eng., Ian McIlreath, P.Geol., Dr. John Moldon, P.Eng., Dr. Rob Stewart, P.Eng., and Nick Trovato, P.Eng.

Dr. Larry Ohlhauser joins Hugh Planche and Dr. Norm Wagner to make up the public members of Council. Public members are provincial appointees.

Photos of councillors, public members, the Executive Committee and Summit Awards® winners appear in the issure of this month's PEGG. (Summit Award winner photos and biographies can be viewed here.)

Home | Past PEGGs | PEGG Search | Contact Us