Terri-Jane Yuzda

Students Thank Benefactors

More than 80 students met and thanked their benefactors at the Faculty of Engineering's undergraduate awards donor and recipient event on March 18. This is the first time in the history of the faculty that recipients and sponsors met in a formal reception, and about 100 people attended. Greetings and thanks were sincere and plentiful.

Hosted by Dean David Lynch, PhD, P.Eng., the reception featured speeches from Art Meyer, P.Eng., (Mechanical, 1979) vice-president of technology for Enbridge Inc., and Katherine Leicht, recipient of the National Oilwell Scholarship.

Mr. Meyer emphasized that a strong educational foundation is vital to the profession and explained the reasons why Enbridge sponsors the second year scholarships, and the Hugh Sangster Memorial Engineering Scholarship.

No doubt Ms. Leicht spoke on behalf of all undergraduates in room when she said that financial relief is always welcome to students.

Dr. Lynch expressed pride in the quality of students in attendance and in the strengths of strategic partnerships with corporate and individual donors.

In addition to a number of high profile individual donors in attendance, corporate or organizational sponsors included the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta, ATCO Electric, BP-TEC Engineering Group Ltd., Hewlett-Packard (Canada) Ltd., Shell Canada Ltd. and UMA Engineering Ltd.

Home | Past PEGGs | PEGG Search | Contact Us