Nancy PetersonP. KIM STURGESS, P.Eng., FCAE, ICD.D

Kim Sturgess is CEO and founder of Alberta WaterSMART, a not-for-profit organization committed to developing and improving the management of Alberta’s water resources. Kim graduated with a degree in Engineering Physics from Queen's University in 1977, an M.B.A. with Distinction from the University of Western Ontario in 1984, and from the ICD Corporate Governance College, Directors Education Program in 2006. She is a registered Professional Engineer and a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

Kim began her career at the National Energy Board as a gas pipelines engineer, and then spent five years at Esso Resources Canada Ltd. as a reservoir engineer and business analyst. Upon completion of her M.B.A., she spent four years at McKinsey and Company as a management consultant focusing on technology, energy and transportation projects. In the early 1990's, she led the spin out of Revolve Technologies from NOVA, and served as the CEO of Revolve Technologies and subsequently Revolve Magnetic Bearings until the company was sold to SKF, a Swedish based bearing company, in 2001. She currently serves on the boards of CCI Thermal Technologies Inc., Pressure PipeLine Inspection Company, the Calgary Airport Authority, the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta, the Alberta Economic Development Authority, and the Alberta Water Council. She has also served on the boards of the National Research Council, the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, the Trustees of Queen’s University, Queen’s Centre for Enterprise Development, and the Calgary Science Centre.

Kim is a life member of the Queen’s University Council, and is a member of the World Presidents’ Organization, the International Women’s Forum, the Chairman’s Circle of the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, and the Canadian Engineering Memorial Foundation. Kim has been honoured with both the Distinguished Service Award and Alumni Achievement Award from Queen’s University, the YWCA Women of Distinction Award for Science and Technology, and the Alberta Centennial Medal, and in 2007 was named as one of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women.